× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Announcements

Polls
What is your Experience with NETGEAR Insight cloud management?
Top Contributors
0 Kudos

Wireguard for AX1800 WiFi Router (R6700AX)

Although the AX18000 has VPN support for Pure VPN, how about adding OpenVPN and Wireguard VPN support ?

I've had the router for 20 days, I'm content with it's functionality on the whole. That said, I had some issues with the setup due to the device wanting to do the setup on it's own. I'm a network engineer and would prefer a command shell from which to set things up. Preferences aside, it's doing the job quite well at this point.

Thanks, and looking forward to your reply.

Jeff-

4 Comments
schumaku
Guru

No idea where you have the impression from the R6700AX does only support Pure VPN. While there is no Wireguard support (to my knowledge on any Netgear device), the fine 4-Stream AX1800 WiFi 6 Router Model R6700AX User Manual does show on how you can use almost any OpenVPN client to connect to the R6700AX OpenVPN. p. 113 Use OpenVPN to Access Your Network

JeffRasy
Follower

@schumaku , Yeah, I spotted that later that day.. My primary request is for wireguard. I've got a Raspberry Pi running OpenWRT as a poor man's VPN gateway. Got wireguard working on it and the increase in throughput is quite impressive. Currently the only one using it is myself (at home) but I'd like to move 3 other users (family) to that tunnel, but the Pi isn't really meant to handle that kind of processing.. Speeds drop off pretty quickly when the wife starts playing WOW and the kids start streaming video at the same time. So I'm hoping I can offload the VPN to the router, where it should be. It's that, I buy something with more computational power and two dedicated gig interfaces.