Arlo|Smart Home Security|Wireless HD Security Cameras
× Arlo End of Life Policy Notice
To view Arlo’s new End of Life Policy, click here.

Discussion stats
  • 38 Replies
  • 9 Likes
  • 6 In Conversation
LotVideoSecurit
Guide
Guide

I recently installed 3 new Arlo Pro 2 cameras and I am new to this. Does anyone know how to adjust the motion detection perimeter within the viewing ranges? I don't want my front yard camera to detect the moving cars on the street. I only want it to detect when the cars and people entered the front yard perimeter. Thanks.

1517671813281.jpg

38 REPLIES 38
brh
Master
Master

@LotVideoSecurit

Yes, you do not need the box, but as @jguerdat said you can paint the box to camoflauge it better plus make it a little bit more diffivult to steal or be knocked off by someone with a long pole.

Brian

LotVideoSecurit
Guide
Guide
Thanks! I thought that I have to have a box to protect it from the wind, rain and sun. I will mount it on the tree without a box and point it at the house windows, entryway and drive way, which should eliminate it from detecting the cars on the street...
jguerdat
Guru Guru
Guru

If the box is deep enough or has enough room to position the camera so the box is in view but shields the sensor from seeing the street activity, that may be useful.

LotVideoSecurit
Guide
Guide

After positioning the camera further inward toward the house window and downward toward the driveway, the night vision barely picks up the driveway at night and it recorded every time the wind blows the pygmy palm trees during daytime. I cannot wait to mount it on the tree to see how it will turn out...

Frontyard.JPG

brh
Master
Master

@LotVideoSecurit

Just out of curiosity, have you tried turning the Night Vision off to see if the picture improves?