Reply
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 13,618
Registered: ‎2008-07-25

Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

The step-by-step how-to can be found here.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎2007-01-09

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

Latest issue I've found is with a laptop. When TM decides that the share isn't available (e.g. the laptop was taken off-site) it doesn't automatically restart backups when it is available.
When I bring my laptop back on-site I usually need to kick off a manual "Back Up Now" to get things happening again.

EDIT: False alarm. TM had been disabled by some other software I was working on, and stupid me hadn't noticed. Re-did the experiment today: was off at several other networks today, and on return home the backups kicked in by themselves.

But this does open up a disturbing possibility: when visiting a "foreign" network (e.g. a wifi hotspot) if someone can impersonate your networked TM share they could grab a copy of all your data. Given the steps involved in setting up and authenticating a TM share this is probably more of a theoretical than practical risk right now, but it could do with examination.
If the possibility concerns you, manually turning TM off will avoid the risk. But as seen above, you'll need to remember to turn it back on later! :wink:
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 13,618
Registered: ‎2008-07-25

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

DavidB wrote:
Latest issue I've found is with a laptop. When TM decides that the share isn't available (e.g. the laptop was taken off-site) it doesn't automatically restart backups when it is available.
When I bring my laptop back on-site I usually need to kick off a manual "Back Up Now" to get things happening again (it keeps up with the hourly backups after that).

Anyone with TimeCapsule to see how it behaves with that?
First Time Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2008-04-28

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

According to this external post, when Time Machine uses a remote volume it will erroneously purge all backups when the volume fills up. Does anyone know whether this problem still exists?
Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2007-12-25

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

It appears that Apple has fixed that bug. See this post for more information: http://adamcohenrose.blogspot.com/2008/ ... undle.html

I am using Time Machine with a dedicated TM share on my ReadyNAS. I followed these instructions to set up the disk image: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... 8020121567

However, it looks like these instructions will work just as well, and they are much easier: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... 0211034137
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2007-04-29

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

thank you very much for the patch links - I may setup a new partition and try this now.

and thank you for linking to the simpler instructions - the Infrant ones struck me as too complicated to follow for most people... (including me!)
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2008-04-28

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

Please include this in your official step by step:
In order for this to work your computer name has to be short - no spaces or fancy characters like ' " etc...
It took me a long long time to figure out this was the reason Time Machine wasn't working even though I followed the instructions to the T.
Once I changed my computer name from Andy's MacBook Pro to andy-mbp and logged out and back in again it worked like a charm.
Found the solution here: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1434341&tstart=135

Hope this saves others a headache.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 13,618
Registered: ‎2008-07-25

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

andy_vdg wrote:
Please include this in your official step by step:
In order for this to work your computer name has to be short - no spaces or fancy characters like ' " etc...
It took me a long long time to figure out this was the reason Time Machine wasn't working even though I followed the instructions to the T.
Once I changed my computer name from Andy's MacBook Pro to andy-mbp and logged out and back in again it worked like a charm.
Found the solution here: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1434341&tstart=135

Hope this saves others a headache.

Thanks Andy. Warning has been placed.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,615
Registered: ‎2008-02-28

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

Just FYI: I have 3 macs with names that include both spaces and apostrophes - no issues with getting TM to work on any of them. Latest one was configured following the published guide step be step as a test of the document - worked fine

///P

NAS: Ultra-4, NV+ & Duo v2 :: ST31500341AS & HDS723020BLA642 Drives
Network: Netgear GS108Tv2 / DM111P :: Airport Extreme / Express & Time Capsule
Clients: OS X 10.6 - 10.8 :: Ubuntu 11.x :: Win 7 + SP#1
UPS: APC ES-550

Contributor
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎2007-02-19

Re: Making Time Machine work with the ReadyNAS

andy_vdg wrote:
Please include this in your official step by step:
In order for this to work your computer name has to be short - no spaces or fancy characters like ' " etc...
It took me a long long time to figure out this was the reason Time Machine wasn't working even though I followed the instructions to the T.
Once I changed my computer name from Andy's MacBook Pro to andy-mbp and logged out and back in again it worked like a charm.
Found the solution here: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1434341&tstart=135

Hope this saves others a headache.


Were you connecting using AFP or CIFS? I was also able to get it to work using AFP with an apostrophe in the name.
Top Contributors