× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.

WDNAP350 can it be saved?

sillysod81
Tutor

WDNAP350 can it be saved?

Hi all

I have a WDNAP350 that i was in the middle of a firmware upgrade when we had a power cut. It's now not working (surprise surprise), I was wondering if I can upload the firmware directly through the serial port and if so how would I go about this? I can buy a usb to serial cable, but I have no idea where or how to go from there... Any help will be greatly appreciated.

For extra details I can log into the gui via the web, but only through the wifi connection not the lan. I can't upload new firmware because it turns the wifi off half way through and I'm back to square one. I can configure it through the wifi, but when I attach it to the network it's not connecting and therefore not giving out ip addresses etc.

I'm new to all this as you can probably tell.

Thanks

Kev

Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
JohnRo
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: WDNAP350 can it be saved?

Hello sillysod81, 

It is a procedure for performing a hard reset, but I believe pushing the button while its off is to prepare it being held down when you will turn it on. The serial port is used by engineering only so I can't give any commands and it will void warranty if you try it yourself. The best thing you can do is to contact our Support Team, have it diagnosed or if necessary it will be replaced. ProSafe products has a lifetime hardware warranty, just submit a copy of the proof of purchase.

Thanks,   

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 6

All Replies
JohnRo
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hello sillysod81, 

Welcome to the community! 

Try performing a factory reset using the instructions below: 

NOTE: Factory default button will be held down for a total of 90 seconds. 

1. While the AP is turned on, push and hold the reset button for 30 seconds.