Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: C7000 Router Modem dropping WiFi periodically on Mac OS X Catalina

bschmiedeler
Aspirant

C7000 Router Modem dropping WiFi periodically on Mac OS X Catalina

Hello, 

I have been battling this issue for about 2 months or so. 

I have a C7000 Nighthawk Cable Modem Router. Firmwire is V1.01.32. Compure is a 2017 MBP running Mac OS X 15.0 Catalina. 

The WiFi is not stable. When I reboot the Router I can connect to either of my two networks (one is ac and the other is b/g/n) and the speed is good (maybe 150Mbps on the b/g/n). 

I have

1. Reset the router (once).

2. Rebooted numerous times.

3. I have not changed the cable.

4. I have not reflash firmware or done factory reset. Open to doing this.

Isn't there some log somewhere where I can look and see what is going on? 

Thanks,

Bryan

Model: C7000|Nighthawk - AC1900 WiFi Cable Modem Router
Message 1 of 7
FURRYe38
Guru

Do you know if you were having wifi problems before OSX 10.15? 

What channels are you using? Auto? Try setting manual channel 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4Ghz and any unused channel on 5Ghz.
Any Wifi Neighbors near by? If so, how many?

Message 2 of 7
bschmiedeler
Aspirant

>>Do you know if you were having wifi problems before OSX 10.15? 

Approximately, yes. I started running Catalina betas in late July. However, I don't think that is the issue, as I have a work MBP which I have NOT upgraded, and it still suffers from these problems. Also, our iDevices will sometimes have issues as they of course prefer WiFi over cellular. Sometimes if I am on my iPhone or iPad elsewhere in the house network speed will start to go south and I turn off WiFi and go to cellular and speeds are great.

However, I manage the router from the Mac that is running Catalina and was running the Bets. I have not tried connecting my home MBP directly to the router as I need a USB-C to ethernet converter. 

>>What channels are you using? Auto?

>>Try setting manual channel 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4Ghz