Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RAX80 won't connect to CM2000

CBC0513
Aspirant

RAX80 won't connect to CM2000

My ISP has updated their service from Docsis 3.0 to Docsis 3.1. To take advantage of this (and because I'm being charged more for it), I replaced my existing Netgear modem, which I've been using very successfully for two years now with an RAX80 router, with the CM2000 unit, which is supposed to be plug-and-paly with ANY router.

Long story short,after connecting the new modem to the existing router, I had no internet service of any kind (ethernet or WiFi) via the router, even after troubleshooting with my ISP, Netgtear Tech, with a Tech sent to my home by my ISP. The  Netgear Tech and the on-site ISP Tech had a consensus opinion of the problem being a bad modem, both suggesting to exchange it, which I did.

Second brand new CM2000 modem, second time with EXACTLY the same experience. I did connect a laptop directly to the modem via ethernet cable (powered down modem, connected laptop, powered on modem) to confirm internet connectivity  ... worked perfectly.  After trying unsuccessfully to work his magic, the Netgear Tech advised he would call back after consulting with his peers.

I did some internet searching on my phone while I was waiting and stumbled upon a few suggestions, one of which was to power down the modem, plug a laptop into ethernet port 1 of the router, and then turn the modem back on. I used the same laptop that I'd direct-connected with the modem earlier, and it looked like success!! It turns out that I can plug that laptop into any router port and have internet connectivity, however no other device/computer connected to the router has connectivity, and there is still no WiFi.