Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

C7000-AC1900 intermittent internet - drops for 5-10 minutes every 2-3 hours

Stanzzz
Aspirant

C7000-AC1900 intermittent internet - drops for 5-10 minutes every 2-3 hours

I have been using the Nighthawk C7000-AC1900 modem router for the last three years, and I havent had any major issues for the most part. For the last three weeks, the connection has been dropping for 5-10 mins every 2-3 hours, sometimes even more frequently. Restarts didnt help, and the firmware is up to date. ISP support asked me to talk to Netgear and trouble shoot the bands, radio etc, since I am not using their modem. I cant get Netgear support since the device is out of warranty. PLEASE HELP. 😞 Working from home and the connectivity issues are causing major issues at work.
Message 1 of 4
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: C7000-AC1900 intermittent internet - drops for 5-10 minutes every 2-3 hours

What channels are you using? Auto? Try setting manual channel 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4Ghz and any unused channel on 5Ghz.
Any Wifi Neighbors near by? If so, how many?

Do wired connections also not connect when this happens? 

Message 2 of 4
Stanzzz
Aspirant

Thanks for the response. 

I use channel 6 for 2.5 since 11 seems to be quite busy -> 6+ which includes two of my extendors (EX2700 and Rockspace 1200Mbps) as well. There are quite a few wifi networks in the neighbourhood and the channel assignments looks very different each time I check. 

I have channel 60 for 5, which seems to be DFS. I guess this is fine? 

I presume the wired connections have the same problem because whenever there is a wifi glitch I get the message that the Samsung smarthings hub, which is wired to the modem-roter, is disconnected too.