Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

I have problems with my c700v2 and Ex7000 extender

isaacr77
Tutor

I have problems with my c700v2 and Ex7000 extender

Hello, I have never written in a forum before but I am desperat, I have comcast and we have up to 250mgbs plan. We have around 14 devices and 2 of these are connected to ethernet. alot of the time my internet is really slow and i get around 15-30 mgps when im in my room which is like 20 feet away from the router. When we use the computer which is connected to ethernet  sometimes I get a "cant find internet connection" error on chrome and then have to reload the page. I play video games in my room which is why I got the EX7000 extender so i could use ethernet, I was getting good connection with the extender before i got the C700 router, I would get an average of 100mgbs and was happy. The old router was the xfinity XB3 router, I got the c700 in hopes that it would help with our wifi because it can hold more devices (instead of 16 with the XB3 to 24 with C700). Now my Ps4 gets 20mbps and is always lagging. My question is What am i Doing wrong, and what are the best router settings, and extender settings to get good wifi signal. I dont know much about routers and extenders Please help. Thank you. 

Model: C7000|Nighthawk - AC1900 WiFi Cable Modem Router, EX7000|AC1900 Nighthawk WiFi Range Extender
Message 1 of 31
plemans
Guru

Re: I have problems with my c700v2 and Ex7000 extender

so our first task is to figure out where the problem is coming from, the modem aspect or the routing aspect of the C7000.

If you hardwire a computer into the C7000, What speeds do you get? You state you're paying for the 250mbps plan. Our goal is first to make sure you can get these speeds. I know the C7000 supports up to 400mbps with comcast. do you get hardwired into the C7000? What speeds do you get?