Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

New CM1200 modem download speed capped at 100Mpbs

Grunt66
Aspirant

New CM1200 modem download speed capped at 100Mpbs

Last Sunday (10/17/21) I replaced my Surfboard SB8200 modem with a Netgear CM1200. I had been using the SB8200 since early 2017 when I upgraded my Cox Internet service to 500Mpbs download. The reason for the modem change was my internet connection was having intermittent connection issues on Saturday and Sunday. I thought I trouble shoot with the modem first since I replaced my router earlier this year. The install went fine and everything was working great until Tuesday. It was then I noticed the LAN light on the front of Modem was amber instead of green. Which per the manual for the CM1200 indicates a device is connected at 10 or 100Mpbs. A quick speed test resulted a download speed of 98Mpbs. I used Ookla and Cox for the speed test and both tests comfirmed the speed was capped at just under 100Mpbs download speeds. I reset the CM1200 several times and the amber light remained lit and the download speed was still at just under 100Mpbs for download speeds. I called Cox support and they reset the modem on their end and it fixed the issue, the LAN light turned green  on the modem and my download speeds where once again at 570 - 580 Mpbs download speeds. All was good until yesterday evening when I came home from work and noticed the LAN light on the CM1200 was once again amber instead of green. The download speeds once again now capped at 100Mpbs and a speed test resulted in 98Mpbs download speeds. I first reset the modem several times and that did not work. I called Cox and a reset on their end did not work. I connected the SB8200 back into system and my speeds are now over 500Mpbs download. I am thinking about returning the CM1200 and buying another SB8200 at this point since I cannot keep the CM1200 with download speeds over 100Mpbs. I made sure LAG was disabled on the CM1200 and I am using CAT 6 ethernet cables and my PC is ha