Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Pairing up smart bulbs!

chrob61
Aspirant

Pairing up smart bulbs!

I have a Netgear AC1900 cable modem router, model c7000v2.

I am at my wits end trying to figure out how to pair my smart light bulbs (Philips Wiz) trying to find the 2.4 ghz connection.  I have looked at my router settings and have both 2.4 and 5 gb.  On my phone, there are 2 different drop downs under wifi- Netgear51 and Netgear51-5G.  I selected the 2.4 since the bulbs cannot use the 5 ghz.

Can anyone help me?  I am not that technical with all this! Thank you!!!

Message 1 of 8
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Pairing up smart bulbs!

Please visit and post about this over in the cable modem forum:

https://community.netgear.com/t5/Cable-Modems-Routers/bd-p/home-cable-modems-routers

Thank you. 

Message 2 of 8
FURRYe38
Guru

I would contact the bulbs mfr as they will have information on connecting there products to wifi routers. 

Message 3 of 8
plemans
Guru

Is your phone connected to 2.4ghz while you're trying to setup? 

Message 4 of 8
chrob61
Aspirant

Yes I have 2 different wifi networks available on my phone, the Netgear5 and Netgear5-5G.

I went in to the settings using admin as username, and see that both networks are enabled and they are each called a different name SSID.  I will again try the Philips Wiz chat option to see if they can help me.

@plemans wrote:

Is your phone connected to 2.4ghz while you're trying to setup? 

Message 5 of 8
chrob61
Aspirant

One thing I have discovered while watching various youtube videos, is, that there should be a way for me to disable 5G wireless.  So I went in to my router login, and unchecked the "Enable 5G".   But then I got a pop up something like I cannot disable with WPA??  Not sure exactly the message....what I am getting at is this, isn't there a way for me to turn OFF 5G, set up my light bulbs with the 2.4 G , then go back and turn 5G back on??  

Message 6 of 8
plemans
Guru