Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Upgrading from 16/4 Channels to 24/8 Channels

leehop71
Aspirant

Upgrading from 16/4 Channels to 24/8 Channels

Greetings!  Newbie here. 

I have a Netgear C6300 modem router combo.

I am in the process of adding Ring Security doorbell, cameras, and lighting around my house, in addition to the devices I already have that use Wi-Fi.

I dont' have the project finished yet, but when it is, I will have around 20 devices that will connect to the internet.

Since my current router is a 16/4 channel, I was wondering if I would get more stability and whether it would be worth my while to upgrade to a modem router combo that offers the 24/8 channel configuration?

Thanks in advance!!

Lee

Model: C6300|AC1750 Cable Modem Router Docsis 3.0
Message 1 of 8
plemans
Guru

The C6300 is rated for 680 mbps download optimally. That means signals, channels, your coax, your line, etc are all perfect. You don't say what you're paying for or if you currently get the speed you pay for. That the biggest question. If its working and you're getting the speeds you pay for, upgrading isn't going to help unless you're trying for better wifi coverage. But that'd be a different conversation. 

For a while I was running around 40 wireless devices and 20 wired devices over a 100 mbps connection (now gigabit for my own satisfaction). Everything ran fine. So its about making sure you get the speeds you're paying for and your wireless layout adequately covers the area. I'd try the new setup and see how it works and if something else needs optimizing before jumping to a new modem. 

Hope this helps a little. 

Message 2 of 8
leehop71
Aspirant

Thanks for the reply.  Actually I have Ring devices and was coming across some issues that support suggestions did not solve.  I decided to do away with the combo since consensus was that separate modem was much more stable.