Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎2009-05-18

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

airwofl wrote:
Don't worry - got it working on Windows in the end. Needed the openbios-sparc32 compiled for Windows.

You can get it from the QEMU website under the Windows download page - look for the SPARC binary.


hi,

it seems that the qemu website changed. I cant find the openbios-sparc32 windows binary. It seems that it was removed. Can plz someone upload it?

greetings
Aspirant
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎2007-04-21

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

Aspirant
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2011-08-19

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

The QEMU image is not based on RAIDiator, so you can't upgrade the QEMU image to 4.1.7. It is just a Sparc emulated Debian Linux, that can be used to compile code to run on the ReadyNAS.


So, if I compile something on the QEMU virtual machine, is the resulting object binary compatible with the NV+ ?
ie Can I just copy and run, or do we have to recompile the source on the NV+ ?

What OS is actually running on the NV+ ?
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-05-29

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

Hi Everyone,
Could someone please post a working openbios-sparc32 file for my dev environment below:

Ubuntu on x86-64 - 11.04.

I'm having real trouble finding one that works...

Thanks!
Aspirant
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎2007-01-04

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

Hmm... I'm running the images with the with "Q" ( the Mac qemu-Port ) and after starting apache and hitting HTTP the CPU usage spikes so bad that Chrome times out over an over again... I am trying to run Q on a MacBook Pro, but's I'm surprised it's this slow.

Also Frontview is empty?


Is this expected? Do I need to boot up some other services? Or is this image really just for building other stuff not emulating the full ReadyNAS?

-Thx
ReadyNas Pro, NV+, Duo
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-10-19

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

kayjaywt wrote:
Hi Everyone,
Could someone please post a working openbios-sparc32 file for my dev environment below:

Ubuntu on x86-64 - 11.04.

I'm having real trouble finding one that works...

Thanks!

You are not alone in that. Guys, suggest something if there is. Grateful!
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 45,769
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

Developers running Windows 7 may wish to take a look at this video by @syke:

Aspirant
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2011-09-04

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

I can do another one for recent versions of Linux/MacOS if need be, but this one is detailed enough that users of other platforms should be able to translate the steps.

I hope this helps, please leave feedback and thumbs it up. If anyone is in the giving mood after watching, please buy some of my band's songs @ http://themakingofthemakingof.com Smiley Happy
Aspirant
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎2009-05-18

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

Hello,

I tried to run qemu under windows7 by using the image. But when I enter the command as in the video posted nothing happens. As you said, there will no error be displayed I have no idea what I did wrong.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-08-17

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

@fme_: Try "ifname" instead of "iframe"
Aspirant
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2012-07-29

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

Great video, I'm up and running with the Qemu dev env. Now to have a crack at getting bluetooth support working...
Aspirant
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎2009-05-18

Re: Sparc platform development envrionment using Qemu

So, the past days I got time to try this qemu thing again, and now its working! Smiley Happy Thanks matt_hargett . Is there also a way to access the webinterface of the nas? Entering the IP Adress of the qemu results into a 404 error. (running it on windows7 with enabled iis)

EDIT:

You have to start the service by your self. /etc/init.d/frontview start

and

passwd admin
Enter new UNIX password:
Retype new UNIX password:
Discussion Stats
Top Contributors
User Kudos Count
1