Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Slow speeds on D7800 X4s vs NBN box after changing ISP

Brad22
Follower

Slow speeds on D7800 X4s vs NBN box after changing ISP

Hi all,

Bit of a noob here so any advice would be appreciated.

I recently switched ISP providers from Superloop to Tangerine here in Australia. I'm on an HFC connection with the NBN. 

I was previously on a 250/40 (or similar upload) plan with my old ISP Superloop which worked totally fine and I would constantly hit 250mbps on speed tests.

I just switched over to Tangerine as a new ISP on a 250/25 plan. I've changed nothing else in my modem settings except to update the username/password for the new ISP which is the only instruction given when setting it up.

The issue I'm having is that every speed test I am doing is failing to hit 100mbps download. No issues with ping or upload but its less than half of what I should be getting on the download speed.

Now, if I plug my ethernet cable directly from my PC into the NBN box, I get the full 250mbps download speed, which makes me think there is some issue with the modem settings. It is stumping me however why I was able to get 250mbps on the same sized plan with a different provider only a couple of days ago using the same modem / ethernet cable / modem settings.

Thanks for reading and sorry in advance if this is a stupid question.

Message 1 of 2

Re: Slow speeds on D7800 X4s vs NBN box after changing ISP

@Brad22 wrote:

Now, if I plug my ethernet cable directly from my PC into the NBN box, I get the full 250mbps download speed, which makes me think there is some issue with the modem settings. It is stumping me however why I was able to get 250mbps on the same sized plan with a different provider only a couple of days ago using the same modem / ethernet cable / modem settings.