Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Can't seem to upgrade the firmware

roguedigital
Aspirant

Can't seem to upgrade the firmware

Hello Community!

Having trouble upgrading the firmware on my D6200. I should point out I'm probably above average configuring these device, but self-taught and certainly no expert. But the router is working great with dozens of attached devices, about half with assigned IP addresses and the rest DHCP. I don't use the wifi (switched off) in favour of the existing Apple Airport wireless network - if it ain't broke don't fix it!

The router says it has Firmware Version V1.0.0.60_1.0.60. It also is displaying a small message saying "A router firmware upgrade is available", but clicking that eventually leads to another message saying "No new firmware version is available". So I go directly to the website and download the current Firmware Version V1.1.00.32 Once unzipped, this gives me a file called "D6200-V1.1.00.32.img".

Is there a difference a "Router Upgrade" and "Firmware Upgrade"? The installation instructions say to navigate to "ADVANCED tab > Administration > Firmware Upgrade", but there isn't a "Firmware Upgrade" option, only a "Router Upgrade" option. And if I follow that and browse to the .img file and try to Upload it to the router, I get an error message "Please assign the correct file. The file format is *.chk"

So, what am I doing wrong? Was there a change from using .chk to .img that needs an intermediate firmware version to then jump to the latest. Why no new updates found automatically?

Thanks in advance for any advice. Short and sweet suggestions to get me heading down the correct path greatly apprecieated.

Model: D6200|Dual Band 11ac ADSL Modem Router
Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru

Re: Can't seem to upgrade the firmware

Netgear D6400 probably, not D6200 - https://www.netgear.com/support/product/D6400 (there used to be a V1.0.0.60_1.0.60 at least)

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 4

All Replies
antinode