Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

D6200 Modem-Router Wi-Fi access to internet drops frequently

Retired_Member
Not applicable

D6200 Modem-Router Wi-Fi access to internet drops frequently

Hi there,

I have been using this D6200 Modem Router since 2013 first using an ADSL service and since a couple of years ago through the Australian NBN system (high speed fiber network) to connect to the internet.

At home we use the wi-fi provided by the D6200 to give internet access to our smartphones (2 Androids) and a couple of iOS tablets.

This environment has worked reliably for many years but recently we started to lose internet access to the devices connected via wi-fi. The access is OK for a day or two and all of a sudden the internet access disappears. The devices wi-fi setting shows "Connected to Wi-fi. Internet not connected" or something very similar.

The only way to fix this problem is to power off/on the modem and the internet access is restored to wi-fi.

I'm using a Toshiba laptop with Windows 10 and AVG Internet Security and both software are updated regularly.

I'm wondering whether thsi problem is due to something external to the modem or if need to get a new modem (which I resist because the nternet access via wi-fi works fine most of the time.)

I'd appreciate any help/comments.

Thank you

Elmstree

Model: D6200|Dual Band 11ac ADSL Modem Router
Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions
Retired_Member
Not applicable

Re: D6200 Modem-Router Wi-Fi access to internet drops frequently

My apologies for causing so much confusion. My insistence that I was using the D6200 as a "modem and a router"; was due to my lack of knowledge about networks. I never pretended in my replies to understand networks. What I meant by that statement was that I did not have a separate modem between the D6200 and the NBN box. So I just assumed that the D6200 was fulfilling that role. Unfortunately, the Netgear articles nor the NBN user literature don't make this clear.