Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: D7000 VPN assigning out of range IP

ADH91
Aspirant

D7000 VPN assigning out of range IP

UHaving updated my D7000 to the latest firmware I'm struggling to get the VPN functionality to work with IOS.  I have followed all the instruction and have been able to get the open VPN app to connect to the router from another network, however I am then unable to access either the home network or the internet. When I investigate I find that the iPad is being allocated an IP address of 192.168.2.2 which is outside the range of address's allocated to my network. Is there something else I need to do to get an IP address that will work?

Message 1 of 9

Hello,

I'm still learning VPN stuff but what you are seeing with the IP address is normal and done to avoid issues with the internal / external VPN network (clients). Essentially the router is suppose to bridge the two networks and allow you to access the shares regardless of this difference.

Has this worked in the past?

If you open a web browser and type as the address 192.168.2.1, does it access the router?

Message 2 of 9
ADH91
Aspirant

Hi 

thanks for the reply.

I've tried your suggestion and you are correct I can log into the router via the VPN connection. 

However if I try connecting to the internet this does not work. 

I also tried pinging other devices on my home network all with 192.168.0.x IP address's. None responded. 

Is there something I need to do to enable the 192.168.0 and 192.168.2 networks to connect?

thanks for your help

Alistair

Message 3 of 9

For the internet issue, could be a problem with your DNS settings. If the IOS / app has the ability to change the DNS servers try using google servers.

DNS (aka nameserver1) 8.8.8.8

DNS (aka nameserver2) 8.8.4.4

For the issue of trying to access network shares, the VPN server (your router) is now acting as the device which broadcasts all internal services over the VPN network.