Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

DGND3700 or wait (currently using DGN2000)

windylim
Aspirant

DGND3700 or wait (currently using DGN2000)

I've been using a Netgear DGN2000 DSL/Router, for about 2 years. It works fine most of the time, but speed is not that great lately (I connect more and more devices these days by wifi, and internet browsing seems slow or unstable sometimes (eg. my iPad would sometimes lose the connection and I have to disconnect and reconnect to the router again). My main usage would be:
- iMac connecting (wired)
- ipad, couple of phones (Nokia, HTC) connecting by WIFI
- couple of laptops connecting by WIFI
- additional iMac connecting by WIFI
- Epson AIO printer connecting by WIFI
- PS3 connecting by WIFI

I'm considering getting one of the higher performance DSL/Routers like the DGND3700. However, I've seen some complaints about this browser such as disconnection. I wonder if getting this browser would help.

I'm thinking (hoping) the dual channel would help to improve the performance a bit (at least for devices within near distance).

Any advise or comments from people who have used this? I've also seen a similar thread with some comments about an upcoming firmware that will fix these issues and add IPv6. Any idea when this is coming?

Thank you!
Message 1 of 6
Scubbie
Apprentice

Re: DGND3700 or wait (currently using DGN2000)

I believe that IPv6 is in the wings as Ryster has posted today about v2 being launched in December.

As for v1.0.0.17, the router is a lot more stable now on the whole, but I did have a complete lock-up earlier this afternoon. This is the first time I have had something that serious happen for a long time and I am not sure what caused it.

I was looking to persuade a friend to get one for Christmas, but now I am not so sure. I would resolve a few issues she has with WiFi, but as I am the one who ends up fixing things, and she lives a little too far away, I may end up waiting a little longer before suggesting it for her.