Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

NightHawk X8 D8500 not working with BT Infinity

McWoodcock
Aspirant

NightHawk X8 D8500 not working with BT Infinity

I have purchased a Nighthawk X8 D8500 Modem Router to replace my (3rd) unreliable BT Homehub. 

I was able to go through the initial setup, enter the standard BT Broadband password, connect to the Wifi network with my device, but it couldn't access the internet. 

I did a search on this forum and I found the statement that "BT Infinity ISP uses IPv6-PD IPv6 configuration our devices do not support IPv6-PD configuration and we do not have any plans to support this on D6400,D7000, D7800 or D8500 in future." published on other posts.

Is this really the case?  If so, why is BT Infinity included in the description on Amazon and there are so many users that say it works fine with BT?

I am a bit of network newbie - All help appreciated

Many thanks

Message 1 of 10

Re: NightHawk X8 D8500 not working with BT Infinity

You do not need IPv6 implemented to connect to BT Infinity. That is just a nice tweak that some people lust after,  albeit one that doesn't mean much at the moment. IPv6 is not widely used at the moment.

You say that you entered "the standard BT Broadband password".

BT Infinity does not need a password. You just use your BT email address as the username. Leave the password blank.

Most people find that the Netgear wizard happily connects them to Infinity. It did here on my D6400. It even automatically negotiated the transition from ADSL to DSL.

Message 2 of 10
McWoodcock
Aspirant

OK - Thank you for that clarification. 

I will try again when I get home tonight.  Can I access the Netgear wizard from an iPad or do I need a PC connected?

Message 3 of 10

If you can connect to the thing with the iPad, it should work.

I don't do this myself because an iPad uses wifi and setting up over wifi is problematic because you may be doing things that disrupt the wifi.