Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Nighthawk D7000 periodically losing wifi

ruzicka
Apprentice

Nighthawk D7000 periodically losing wifi

For the last couple of weeks, I've noticed that my D7000 will periodically lose its wifi broadcast.  The only way to get it back is to do a complete reset.  Then everything is fine....for a few days, and then it happens again.

A couple of weeks ago, when it all first started, I also noticed a dramatic drop in internet speed.  I was able to finally fix the speed issue by manually downloading the firmware and totally reinstalling it.  So my guess is that something in the firmware got corrupted.  Unfortunately though, the wifi still goes out on me.  Perhaps something in the firmware continues to be corrupted?

Any chance that something within the D7000 is overheating?  It does not feel to be very hot to the touch, but I am no expert.

Any constructive thoughts on this would be appreciated.  My D7000 is only a little bit over 1-year old, so out of warranty.  I'd hate to have to get an entirely new modem/router so soon!

Model: D7000|Nighthawk AC1900 VDSL/ADSL Modem Router
Message 1 of 17
ruzicka
Apprentice

Re: Nighthawk D7000 periodically losing wifi

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Message 2 of 17
DarrenM
Sr. NETGEAR Moderator

Hello ruzicka

Have you tried to do a factory reset yet?

DarrenM

Message 3 of 17
ruzicka
Apprentice

Every single time I've lost wifi, since reinstalling the firmware, the ONLY way I get it to come back is to do a factory reset.

Message 4 of 17

Try reflashing the firmware again. This has been known to solve problems in the past. Then do a factory reset.

Message 5 of 17
ruzicka
Apprentice

Perhaps I should note that I've now reflashed the latest firmware twice, and even tried an older firmware as well.  And then doing a factory reset each time afterwards.