Re: Best Way to set up a 3700v4 as an Access Point

Magic_Martin
Aspirant

Best Way to set up a 3700v4 as an Access Point

Hello!

I'm a relative novice at setting up networks

I have bought another 3700v4 to act as an access point at the other end of our house to extend the Wifi coverage. I'm proposing the following configuration as far as this concerns:

Cable Modem (as a Modem not Router) -> 3700v4 (as the Router for Wifi and LAN including Xbox One) -> NEW 3700v4 (as an Access Point for Wifi and LAN including Xbox 360)

To clarify my only concern is with setting up the new 3700v4 to act as the Access Point (the other one works perfectly)

Looking at the Netgear 3700v4 Manual Page 74 - it says there is a "built in" Access Point mode and explains how to set it up which looks surprisingly simple - interestingly it clearly shows the input port of the "3700v4 which is the AP" being connected to the "Existing" Router via the 3700 AP's Internet Port and not LAN port (and not a LAN port)*

Looking elsewhere on the internet it shows manual methods of setting up the Netgear routers in general as AP (uncheck DHCP etc). Interestingly these say to connect the AP to the Router using one of the AP's Four LAN ports - which is very different to the above (see *)

My simple question is - what is the best way to set up the second 3700v4 as an Access Point to ensure:
1. Open NAT on the Xbox 360 when playing on the Xbox One.
2. To enable me to set up secured network including "MAC Address protection" and hiding the SSIDs (I'm assuming it will set up Wifi with WPA 2).
3. Once set up how would I then separately access the original "Router" 3700v4 and the New "Access Point" 3700v4 to say update Firmware or Permitted MAC ID's in the future?
4. Any thing else I should have asked but am too naïve to think of

Thanks very much

Martin
Message 1 of 4
Retired_Member
Not applicable

If the AP Mode actually does work then I would recommend using it.
Message 2 of 4
svenmeier
Aspirant

Hi,