Can anyone help me set up my R4500 as a sub to my Centurylink dsl modem/router?

SSG-NG
Aspirant

Can anyone help me set up my R4500 as a sub to my Centurylink dsl modem/router?

I'd like to set up my R4500 as a sub to my Centuryling dsl modem/router so I connect my printer and seagate backup device using the USB connections on the R4500.  The goal is to have a wireless network on which I can print and do continuous backups.

Message 1 of 21
DarrenM
Sr. NETGEAR Moderator

Re: Can anyone help me set up my R4500 as a sub to my Centurylink dsl modem/router?

Hello SSG-Ng

All you would need to do is find the bridge mode on your CenturyLink dsl modem turn that on and then connect it to the WAN port of your R4500. You may have to contact centurylink on how to bridge there modem. hope to hear your feedback

DarrenM

Message 2 of 21
SSG-NG
Aspirant

Re: Can anyone help me set up my R4500 as a sub to my Centurylink dsl modem/router?

Thanks Darren. BTW, you are dealing with a novice here.  I contacted Centurylink.  They told me I couldn't connect two routers because they would compete fo an IP address.  I told them that I thought making the Netgear a sub to their modem would avoid that.  They wouldn't make any promises and basically said they didn't support what I was trying to do.  However thy did give me the following url to get to bridge mode:

http://internethelp.centurylink.com/internethelp/modem-pk5001z-adv-bridging-ctl.html

After looking at it, I'm a bit nervous about using it.  I don't want to screw up my internet connection.

Message 3 of 21
DarrenM
Sr. NETGEAR Moderator

well the other option you can do is turn the R4500 into a access point which may be the better solution here is a article to do that. your DSL modem/router will still do all of the routing and you can use the usb functions, ethernet, and the wifi from the R4500. Let me know if you need any help or questions

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/20927

DarrenM

Message 4 of 21
SSG-NG