davidra
Aspirant

Cannot access DN4500P router

I have a four year old combo router/modem, model DN4500P, which does not appear on any Netgear site. I purchased it from Cox, my ISP. It has worked fine, and is stil working OK but apparently is having packet loss. I say apparently because I can no longer access the router. I have tried three browsers, I have cleared caches, rebooted the router multiple times, and it continues to work well in both bands, but I cannot access it via either my iMac or mobile devices. I do not have a laptop to connect directly to it. When I try using the website URL's routerlogin, either com or net, I get a page that says I am not connected to my router's wifi network. When I enter the 192 URL's directly, I get a sign in box; when I enter the defaults (I've never changed them), the box just reappears. I am using DHCP. The computer shows the router to be at 192.168.0.1. I am not an expert but I've never had a problem getting into the router. I also don't mind upgrading the combo unit, but I would like to figure out why I can't access it at this point.   Thanks for any help. 

Message 1 of 4
antinode
Guru

Re: Cannot access DN4500P router

> [...] model DN4500P, which does not appear on any Netgear site. [...]

Is it similar to a WNDR4500[vX] which does?  "DN" sounds like DSL,
but I thought that Cox was cable-TV.

> [...] apparently is having packet loss. I say apparently because I can
> no longer access the router. [...]

Too much interpretation, not enough facts.

> [...] When I try using the website URL's routerlogin, either com or
> net, I get a page that says I am not connected to my router's wifi
> network.

That's a DNS problem/quirk.  Welcome to what may be the worst error
message in the world.  For an explanation, try:

https://community.netgear.com/t5/x/x/m-p/1365830

Briefly, the idea is that "[www.]routerlogin.net" (or ".com") should
point to your own router, but that's true only if you use your own