Re: How to prevent being DDOS while gaming?

Concernmom
Luminary

How to prevent being DDOS while gaming?

If I am not making myself clear, please bare with me.  I'm new at this whole gaming thing.  My son plays PS4 with a few of his friends from school.  Last night one of the kids decided to boot everyone offline because he was losing.  It was so bad that it interruped me while I was working.  My son tried explaining how it is done. Something about the IPA.  How can I prevent this from happening again? Do I need a VPN oris there something I can do through the router?  

Model: WNR1000v3|Wireless Router
Message 1 of 3
TheEther
Guru

Your son was probably referring to your public IP address. It's pretty easy for a gamer to find it and launch attacks against you.

The only effective countermeasure is to change your address. Whether or not you can do that depends on your ISP. Changing the router's MAC address, in some cases, can work, but there's no guarantee. Other methods, such as turning off the modem for an extended period of time may work. My observations, however, suggest that it seldom works. I wouldn't bother calling the ISP. They will tend to be rather unhelpful in this regard.

Good luck.
Message 2 of 3
jlewter
Luminary

Without being too blunt, there is not much you can do.

If it was a one-time thing then shrug it off.  If it happens regularly (more than once a month) then take action.

If it's a really serious issue then your ISP *should* spot it and take action on their end (by blocking the flood packets), often a DDOS on a home user will hit others that are sharing your connection at the ISP.

It is also possible that this was an ISP issue - often when things like this happen kids ask other kids "are you hacking me" and the mean ones just say "yea it's me".