× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: I need more ports than my router has

eaglepi
Guide

I need more ports than my router has

I have a   NETGEAR Smart WiFi Router with Dual Band Gigabit for Amazon Echo/Alexa - AC1750 (R6400-100NAS). I am building a new home and I would like to add more ports for future use.

Which switch would be best to use with this router  ?

I have no experience with  adding a switch to a router so if there is a tutorial for the switch and this router I would appreciate the advice.

Model: R6400|AC1750 Smart WiFi Router
Message 1 of 10

Accepted Solutions
plemans
Guru

Message 9 of 10

All Replies
plemans
Guru

Most unmanaged switches should work fine. Just make sure to go with a gigabit device (10/100/1000). I'm not going to recommend one because I've used a bunch of different unmanaged switches from different manufacturers and I have yet to have one fail.  Most issues with unmanaged switches come from user errors or bad cables.

One thing I'd recommend if you're building a new house is that wherever you route the cables to, set up a patch panel. Its cheap/easy and just makes thing easier whenever you're changing your devices/network around.  

Message 2 of 10
eaglepi
Guide

Can you please explain   your suggestion to use patch panels? I ahve no idea what they are or how they are used

Message 3 of 10
plemans
Guru

A patch panel is just what you terminate the ends of your ethernet cables in a single location. Cleans things up nice and allows you to label them. 

This video goes over pros/cons. He does use a rack mount but I've just wall mounted them at my place. Makes it look nice. you can usually get them for fairly cheap. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lg2oGE02DJE

Message 4 of 10
eaglepi
Guide

thank you very much !

Message 5 of 10
eaglepi
Guide