× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Internet disconnects randomly only when wired to WNDR4500v2

mtarallo
Aspirant

Internet disconnects randomly only when wired to WNDR4500v2

Hi there - thanks for taking a look. (This post is all about wired networks.)

I have been working flawlessly for over 3 years with my charter spectrum Arris router and Netgear WNDR4500v2 as an AP. I just recently moved to a dettached office (from my main home) and unplugged my netgear router that was there which was working fine with the WiFi devices in that area - I hooked up my office computer and this is when everything started to go down hill.  I have been trying to troubleshoot this random internet disconnect issue which only seems to occur when this netgear router (recently upgraded to the latest firmware) is used (like I had previously). I would plug in the router, turn on AP mode and hook the router to the lan drop. If I used the WAN port to connect to the landrop as the picture shows in the UI - I would get 7mbps - if I used the LAN port on the back of the rotuer I would get 80mbps (never the full 100mbps) -   During this time of troubleshooting - I tried to eliminate a number of issues - I even replaced the Arris with a new one provided by sepectrum - not sure what brand it is - I want to say technicolor.  NOW I am not sure if it is the ethernet cat 5 lines (so I bought a line tester - will get it saturday) - bascially I have cat 5 running from my office under ground in a conduit to the panel in my main home that hen connects to one of the four ports on the back of the modem / router provided by spectrum.