Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

IoT Setup

Phyber
Luminary

IoT Setup

I have an RBR50 system that works without issues. I would like to separate my LAN from the outside connected devices (Ring doorbell, tv's, receiver, etc). Are there instructions for the Compleat Idiot on how to do this? I'm a chemist (retired) not an IT person so instructions need to be simple and clear. I'm well outside of any Netgear Support. Thanks.

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 11
plemans
Guru

Re: IoT Setup

I guess I'm not sure exactly what you're trying to do?

You want the lan devices on a different network than the wireless devices? 

Or what exactly (and why) are you attempting?

Message 2 of 11

@Phyber wrote:

I would like to separate my LAN from the outside connected devices (Ring doorbell, tv's, receiver, etc).

Why? Explaining what you really want to achieve might get better answers.

@Phyber wrote:

I have an RBR50 system that works without issues.

You have posted your message in the section of this community given over to General WiFi Routers (Non-Nighthawk). (This is easily done, given Netgear's complicated community structure.)

Many questions apply to different types of device, so there may be useful responses here. However, Orbi systems are  not like standard routers, you might get more help, and find earlier questions and answers specific to your device, in the appropriate section for your hardware. That's probably here:

Orbi - NETGEAR Communities

In the meantime you could visit the support pages:

Support | NETGEAR

Feed in your model number and check the documentation for your hardware.

You may have done this already. I can't tell from your message.

I mention it because Netgear stopped supplying printed manuals and CD versions some years ago and people sometimes miss the downloads.

Message 3 of 11
Phyber
Luminary