× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Netgear orbi RBS50 loses ethernet connection

nicolinden
Aspirant

Netgear orbi RBS50 loses ethernet connection

I have been using the Netgear Orbi for about 2 years now and untill now I was happy with it but now I am experiencing issues with the satellite connections... 

I recently moved to a newly build house, so I decided to create network connections in each room, my internet modem (ziggo) is set to Bridge mode and the network cable goes directly into my RBR50 router, besides this connection from my modem I also use two more ports of this router. One goes to my Philips hue bridge and the other to my Gigabit 8 ports switch, all network cables (from all rooms) connect to a 8 port patch panel and I have cables patched on the gigabit switch to create a network. I use a few LAN IP address reservations and a port forwarding to one specific computer on my network for VPN connections. 

In the room where my satellite is located I tested the ethernet connection on my laptop and that seems to work fine. When I connect my satellite to the ethernet connection it also shows in the orbi maintenance as a wired connection but now and then it just seems to loose the ethernet connection and then it shows as a 5Ghz or 2.4Ghz wireless connection and I loose my internet connection. Since the wifi connection is still strong all my devices near the satellite still connects to this satellite but just do not have internet access anymore. Restarting the device sometimes helps but not always. 

I never had this issue before and another satellite in my house does not seem to have issues with a wired connection. I like to troubleshoot what happens but I have no idea if I can access some log or troubleshoot tools for just the satellite?