Port Forwarding Issue - Can't access NAS

Peje1873
Aspirant

Port Forwarding Issue - Can't access NAS

I've been using a DNS-320 NAS Drive for about 6 months now with a BT HomeHub, I had forwarded port 21 for FTP and port 443 for HTTPS access which worked 100%.

I installed a WNDR4500 today and setup the same port forwarding settings, static IP to the NAS and forwarded the same ports to it as with the previous router, but for some reason the connection stops at the router. I have tried using various different ports without any success.

I tried the FTP through FileZilla and it shows the problem is at the router, could this be a clash with the readyshare facility in the router? I haven't got any USB devices plugged in but in the advanced settings it lists this feature as being able to use the same ports (I havent clicked them to enable)

Any help would be much appreiated,
Pete
Message 1 of 24
fordem
Mentor

Re: Port Forwarding Issue - Can't access NAS

Some quesions for you - I haven't used the exact combination you have, but I have something close - a DNS-323 with a Netgear FVS338.

Q1 - Was there a change in network address when you changed the router (the a.b.c portion of the ip address)?

Q2 - Are you using a static address or a DHCP reservation (did you set the address in the router or the NAS)?

Q3 - If it's a static address, is the default gateway entry on the NAS set correctly?

Q4 - Presumably there is a modem in front of the WNDR4500 - is it a modem/router or a modem?

If it's a modem/router it needs to be in bridged more - you can check this by looking at the WNDR4500's admin page to see if the WAN address shown is a private address.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Message 2 of 24
jeps
Novice

You could try and disable the "Portscan and DOS" detection feature.
I have really bad experinces with this feature.