× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

R6220 randomly drops LAN connections

mnbvc
Tutor

R6220 randomly drops LAN connections

I've been using a R6220 wifi router for the past five years and just recently it started giving me trouble. At random times, all LAN connections to the router will drop for about five seconds before connecting again. When it happens, the LAN indicator lights on the front of the router will turn off.

This is a real problem for me, since I'm running a VOIP system through my router and phone calls drop whenever it happens. Rebooting the router several times has not fixed the problem.

I'm not really sure when the problem started. It may have been after I updated to firmware 1.1.0.114_1.0.1.

I checked the router logs but there is never any information about what may have happened. So I'm at a loss for what the problem might be. Is there any way to troubleshoot this problem? Or is my router just broken?

Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
mnbvc
Tutor

Re: R6220 randomly drops LAN connections

The router has been running a full 24 hours and there have been no drops in the LAN connections. I think this problem is fixed.

Whether or not it was caused by the firmware update is not certain, but it seems the solution really was as simple as a factory reset. Thank you, Plemans, for your assistance.

View solution in original post

Message 8 of 8

All Replies
plemans
Guru

What modem is the router connected to? 

If you noticed it happened after a firmware upgrade, I'd try the factory reset and reinstall. 

Sometimes firmware changes enough that a reset can help. 

Does wifi drop as well? 

Message 2 of 8
mnbvc
Tutor

Thank you for replying. The modem is a Fios ONT device supplied by Verizon (I think a Nokia 211). The wifi is not affected by the problem, or at least I have not noticed it ever happen.