Setting up a Wireless repeater using WGR614v10 as base station

I'm trying to set up a wireless repeater using a
WGR614v10 as the base station and a

WNDR3400 (N600) as the repeater.

The wireless settings WGR614v10 are:
Channel: 06
Mode: up to 150mbps

I was told to use the same setting for the WNDR3400, although
the settings options aren't exactly the same.

I've never done this before and can't seem to get it to work. I named the repeater Name (SSID) the same as the base station. And I'm guessing that once it's configured properly that you only see one router name pop up in your available networks.

Can someone help me configure this properly? It seemed like I was really close, but I couldn't connect and had to turn off the repeater router.

I'm using this article as my guide:
http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2745/kw/wds/r_id/100109
Message 1 of 5
Joe_
Apprentice

Re: Setting up a Wireless repeater using WGR614v10 as base station

bigcarpileup wrote:

The wireless settings WGR614v10 are:
Channel: 06
Mode: up to 150mbps

There is an obvious error in the article under step 2 that is misleading.

Wireless repeating can only use a mode of 54Mbps.

You should also be aware that any repeating or extending of a wireless signal will cause your wireless throughput speed to be halved.

Most people, when they learn of the limitations of wireless repeating, don't go for it.

Some people prefer to use a WN2000RPT to extend their signal. With this option they, at least, will be able to use the higher speed/mode as well as higher encryption/security, though throughput will still be halved. The following should provide you with more info about this option: http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14239/kw/WDS

The 3rd option (which I would choose) if I needed to cover a greater/other area, is to set up a wired Access Point. This is shown here: http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965