Re: Slow network access at start up

DenisD
Aspirant

Slow network access at start up

I setup my new WNDR3700V3 yesterday. My 4-year-old Dell desktop with Windows 7 64 has a wired connection to the router. When I start it up, the network icon in the system tray has a small silvery blue circle in the lower half for 70 – 80 seconds. Then it changes to normal and I can access the Internet.

Everything else seems to be working well. Is there any way I can speed up the startup?
Message 1 of 7
Jack_
Aspirant

DenisD wrote:
I setup my new WNDR3700V3 yesterday.
  • What router did you had in use before?
  • Any network changes ?
  • Any software firewalls in action?
  • Check what exact differences in network settings where introduced by replacing your old router with this WNDR3700v3.
Message 2 of 7
DenisD
Aspirant

This is my first router. I'm a rookie. My PC was connected directly to the cable modem. I want the Wi-Fi for my phone and tablet.

I'm using the Windows Firewall and Microsoft Security Essentials. My PC is set up in a public network.

I ran the Netgear setup CD. IIRC, the setup CD downloaded the latest versions from the Internet. I made no other network changes.

I let the setup CD install the Netgear Genie program. I notice it runs at startup. Wondering if that could be the problem?
Message 3 of 7
jlewter
Guide

Can you use the internet while the "busy" overlay is still over the network icon.

Some users in the past (windows 7 forums) have reported that this is common. I have never spotted it, but software can sometimes take a while to load on startup and the network icon may show that while other things are loading.

60 seconds is not a lot of time to play with, but, You could try running services.msc and looking to see what service is showing as "starting", that will likely be the offender.
Message 4 of 7
madhatter
Apprentice

jlewter wrote:
Can you use the internet while the "busy" overlay is still over the network icon.