Total Newbie

lasaersr
Aspirant

Total Newbie

I have WNDR4000. One main computer on the first floor and two kids computers on the second floor. What I would like to accomplish is to only have the internet on, on the kids computer to do windows update from time to time, and also have them connected all the time to my hp wireless printer on the first floor. What is the best way to do this ? Thanks for responding.Smiley Very Happy
Message 1 of 11
Retired_Member
Not applicable

Re: Total Newbie

Setup limited users accounts on each PC without a web broswer on their screen. You being the admin can log on and run updates. Use remote desktop connection to manage updates as long as your OS supports it. Add printer as normal.
Message 2 of 11
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

This is wireless router so use wirelessly connecting those PC
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

June Mizoguchi-
Message 3 of 11
Joe_
Apprentice

lasaersr,

You did not elaborate, but as searay indicated, the foremost control should be setting yourself up as the sole administrator on the kids PCs (and with a good admin password too). The kids can be set up as users (not Admin) with limited privileges.

Either now or in the future you may want the kids to have a certain amount of internet access, and not just for Windows updates. Example, you may want them to be able to do research in order to complete certain homework assignments. Also, you may not want to totally stifle their potential to develop and learn thru the internet.