× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Trying to understand nature of "DoS attack: RST Scan" log messages

brado77
Star

Trying to understand nature of "DoS attack: RST Scan" log messages

Disclaimer: I am a security engineer, so my questions which follow are not to understand what a DoS attack or RST scan are; I know what those are -- I'm trying to understand the behavior of my router and the nature of its logging.

Ok, here we go. I have a NETGEAR RAXE500 router, with latest updates, Armor running, in router mode (NAT), no UPnP turned on, no port forwarding, admin over HTTPS only, and access control turned on, meaning only whitelisted MAC addresses can successfully connect to the network. Additionally, this sits behind an enterprise-class firewall device running pfSense which also has no pass-through services or port forwarding enabled, and is also NAT'd. So the only devices on my network are from whitelisted MAC addresses, and the only inbound network communications which should reach clients inside the RAXE500 network are responses to requests which originated from known and whitelisted devices within the network. In other words, no connections initiated from the outside should succeed. 

Every night, I have the RAXE500 email me router logs. Every day, that log email is loaded with lines indicating DoS attacks, specifically RST scan, such as the following: 

[DoS attack: RST Scan] from source [IP ADDRESS REDACTED] ,port 443 Thursday, Oct 27,2022 23:52:37