× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Unable to access routerlogin.net

vickyg2003
Aspirant

Unable to access routerlogin.net

Hello

I'm a not a tech, I'm a beginner and senior citizen too, so be kind.

AT&T U-verse 5268ac GATEWAY dual band router

AT&T Cisco VEN401-AT Access Point (talks to TV boxes)

NETGEAR WNR2500RP-v2 (used as what I think you'd call a wireless bridge)

At my condo complex (1400 units) we all have AT&T U-verse wireless TV, and then we arrange for our own internet, so most residents use AT&T that broadcasts the 2.4 Ghz band on channels 1,4,7,10 , while others use Comcast that uses the 3 channel system that 1,6, 11 pattern. I typically see 14-20 SIDS on each channel, so WiFi speeds are around 3Mbs on 2.4 Ghz. On the other hand my 5Ghz wifi runs at between 84 and 118 Mbs.

In order to access the internet I went into AT&T's GATEWAY and renamed 5Ghz SSID so I can force a connection to this band that runs at about 84 Mbs, even though AT&T displays warnings against doing this. Then I use the NETGEAR in another room to connect to the 5GHz band and provide wired Ethernet to my two printers and my desktop computer. And I've got the WiFi turned off on the NETGEAR so this doesn't contribute to the WiFi Pollution. This has run flawlessly for 5 years, until one of the TV boxes died and I couldn't get the new box to connect to the VEN401. A service call was scheduled for the day after Christmas