Highlighted
Novice

Using a WNDR4500 Router and 2 WNDR4500v2 AP's

I have a total of 3 Netgear WNDR4500's

- WNDR4500 (Firmware V1.0.1.40_1.0.68) as my main router connected to the cable modem. I have had this router for 18 months now and it has performed flawlessly
- WNDR4500v2 (Firmware V1.0.0.56_1.0.36) as an AP. It has performed flawlessly
- Second WNDR4500v2 (Firmware V1.0.0.56_1.0.36) as a second AP. Here is where the problems start.

I need this many to cover a large home with 3 levels and 2 home offices.

All router/APs are at the latest available software releases and the AP's are connected using a LAN ports rather than the WAN port and have the same SSID/password/parameters with one each on channels 1, 6, and 11. I can connect and manage each one over the wired network.

I have been running the router and the first access point for a few months without issue.

The issue happens when I connect the second AP to the network. It prevents me from connecting to any of the access points with my Apple devices. The Apple device waits a while, then re-prompts for the password. I enter it again, and it indicates wrong password.

It does not matter if the WIFI is turned on or off on the second AP or not. However, as soon as I unplug the second AP from the network, I can log into the router of first AP.

I would not expect a second AP on the network to affect the WIFI login, especially if the WIFI on the second AP is turned off. All I can think of is that there is some configuration value that I need to change on one of the AP's to distinguish them from each other on the wired side.

I am open to ideas.

Paul
Message 1 of 9
Highlighted
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Using a WNDR4500 Router and 2 WNDR4500v2 AP's

Your setup should work OK, but it does depend on client devices playing properly. In this case I suggest that you try using different SSIDs for the router / APs.
Highlighted
Novice

The IOS clients work great with the router and one access point.