× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

WNDR4700 LAN Port speed

SriniK
Aspirant

WNDR4700 LAN Port speed

I have been using WNDR4700 Centria since about 2012.  Due to the work from home situation a lot of connections are being used and I am trying to optimize my home network.  I need help with below:

1. what is the speed I should expect out of the 4 LAN ports on WNDR4700.  I have a 300Mbps internet connection from VMedia and a Hitron modem.  When the laptop is connected to the directly to the modem, speedtest shows 300-350mbps. The modem LAN output is directly wired connected to WAN of WNDR4700.  When I connect my laptop / desktop to the LAN port of WNDR4700, hardly get 200 mbps and in rare case about 250mbps but nothing beyond it.  Is this expected or what speed should I expect out of the LAN ports of WNDR4700.
  2. 2 LAN ports (#3 & 4) are dead.  No ethernet on these ports.  is it possible to fix these ports?
Model: WNDR4700|Centria - Storage router
Message 1 of 10

Re: WNDR4700 LAN Port speed

@SriniK wrote:
  1. what is the speed I should expect out of the 4 LAN ports on WNDR4700.  I have a 300Mbps internet connection from VMedia and a Hitron modem. 

Check the manual:

Visit the support pages:

Support | NETGEAR

Feed in your model number and check the documentation for your hardware.

Message 2 of 10
plemans
Guru

1. speed expectations? Several things can impact speeds. Try factory resetting. during the install process make sure to leave qos, traffic monitor, parental controls, and access controls all disabled. some speed testing results under optimal conditions. 

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/31894-netgear-wndr4700-centria-reviewed?st...