× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

WPS, SSID message does not make sense, plus why re-network every component when change from hidden t

chris7777
Aspirant

WPS, SSID message does not make sense, plus why re-network every component when change from hidden t

A very basic question from a clueless 64 year old, self taught.  I got my first smartphone, iphone7, and when connecting it to my home network, it says it is hidden.  When I went to the router software and checked the box for Enable SSID Broadcast, it warned me that WPS requires SSID in order to work.  Then it said if I make this change, WPS will become inaccessable.

These seem mutually exclusive.  The first sentence says WPS is required, then it says WPS will become inaccessable.  What am I not getting?  I just want to make my network un-hidden only because articles say it's not a good idea. 

Then, the information goes on to say I will need to take every thing in the network, un-network it, and re-network it, just because I changed from hidden to not hidden?  I don't understand, since no logon or user ID or password was changed, and that is all the devices have to connect with.  Several of my home entertainment components plus 3 computers plus...

Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
TheEther
Guru

Re: WPS, SSID message does not make sense, plus why re-network every component when change from hidd

The second sentence is wrong.  The first sentence is correct.

View solution in original post

Message 7 of 7

All Replies
William10a
Master

Re: WPS, SSID message does not make sense, plus why re-network every component when change from hidd

@chris7777 wrote: