need static ip help

n7leadfarmer
Novice

need static ip help

I really hate to clog the forum with this topic but I am having some trouble giving my PS4 a static IP. I've done it on several routers before, but I am not very good with networking terminology. I honestly think I might have found the answer already but because i don't get the jargon I'm not sure how to interpret it and solve the problem on my own. I get the concepts, but it's still not clicking.

So...

I am connecting through LAN, and have an ip address. I thought that a static IP had to be in the range of x.x.1.2-254 but no matter what IP i enter in the "static routes" menu, once i enter the subnet mask, default gateway and metric (never needed to add this before, i've just been using 2), and apply, the "destination" always resets to x.x.1.0

I'm not sure why it's resetting to 0 and it obviously doesn't work when I set my ps4's IP to match it. Really not sure how this works and the manual doesn't offer any helpful tips.

please, if you don't mind, explain it to me like i'm a noob. I still need to forward ports after this something I've never fully understood. (I've done it several times before but it never fixes the NAT restriction problems i've tried to remedy over the past 8 years of console gaming).

thanks in advance to anyone willing to assist Smiley Happy
Message 1 of 7
Babylon5
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: need static ip help

Static routes is not the area you want to be in, if you have made changes there in relation to this issue then I suggest that you remove them.

You have two basic options;

1. Set a static IP address at the PS4

This is truly setting a static IP address, settings are made mostly at the PS4. You disable the option to use DHCP at the PS4, and set IP data manually, typically as follows;

• IP 192.168.1.100 (100 is an example – your choice)
• Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
• Gateway 192.168.1.1
• DNS 1 (and 2 if required) 192.168.1.1