Reply
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2009-12-31

5 GHZ band

Hello,

I purchased this wifi router (wndr 4000) yesterday. I have enabled both 2,4 & 5 Ghz bands, but how I know if I'm also using 5 Ghz band. Just 2,4 Ghz band blinks. Do I have to choose which band I wan to connect to ?

Thanks for your respond.
Retired_Member
Posts: 0

Re: 5 GHZ band

The 5ghz radio has to be turned on and setup.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2009-12-31

Re: 5 GHZ band

I know, I logged in router's menu setup and enabled both 2,4 and 5 GHZ bands. But when I am connected to the internet through wifi just 2,4 ghz green band light is blinking, which means activity, but blue 5 ghz light is not blinking (it's solid) there is no sign of activity. So don't know how to connect through 5 ghz band. Is there any possibility to choose to connect through 5 ghz band or how I can do that.

Thanks.
Prodigy
Posts: 8,425
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: 5 GHZ band

Do you have a 5GHz wireless card in a client computer?

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2009-12-31

Re: 5 GHZ band

I am unaware what kind of wifi card I have. I was looking for this information in windows, but without any success, don't know if I can find band information there. I've got acer 3820TG supporting a/b/g/n. So is it necessary to have 5 ghz card ? Can 5 ghz card join 2,4 ghz network ? I don't think that any laptops have 5 ghz wifi cards ... I have read somewhere 5 ghz band is appropriate for streaming and wanted to use it.
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-07-14

Re: 5 GHZ band

peto158 wrote:
I am unaware what kind of wifi card I have. I was looking for this information in windows, but without any success, don't know if I can find band information there. I've got acer 3820TG supporting a/b/g/n. So is it necessary to have 5 ghz card ? Can 5 ghz card join 2,4 ghz network ? I don't think that any laptops have 5 ghz wifi cards ... I have read somewhere 5 ghz band is appropriate for streaming and wanted to use it.


the easiest way is to assign a seperate SSID (network name) for each band, for example for the 2.4 ghz band you can call it just "netgear" or any word of your choosing and for the 5ghz band call it "netgear 5G" or similar. if you have the capability to use 5ghz you will see 2 different networks, simply choose the name you gave the 5ghz band.

if you only see the 1 network you named for the 2.4ghz band then you do not have a 5gz wireless adapter, or it's not turned on etc.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2009-12-31

Re: 5 GHZ band

I have different names for each of band, but unfortunately i can't see my 5 ghz network. Oh, if I knew I wasn't able to receive 5 ghz I would never buy it.

Thanks for advice anyway.
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: 5 GHZ band

peto158 wrote:
...I've got acer 3820TG supporting a/b/g/n...


Are you sure? Because if your computer's wireless adapter says IEEE802.11a/b/g/n then it is supposed to be dual band and should be able to connect to either 2.4 or 5 GHz.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2009-12-31

Re: 5 GHZ band

No I was wrong, I've got each of letters except "a". Doesn't mind, I am gonna buy samsung 3D led tv soon, hope it will support 5 ghz wifi band ... i have heard it's much better for hd video streaming than 2,4 ghz band.
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: 5 GHZ band

peto158 wrote:
I am gonna buy samsung 3D led tv soon, hope it will support 5 ghz wifi band ... i have heard it's much better for hd video streaming than 2,4 ghz band.


Don't hope and guess - check the specs of the TV before you buy!

Another thing, although 5GHz may handle HD video streaming better, it has less range and ability to penetrate walls, etc. than 2.4GHz. Just as long as you are aware of that - fine. Don't be surprised if you don't get good performance if the new TV isn't in the same room as the router.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2009-12-31

Re: 5 GHZ band

I think I have all the necessary info about 5 ghz band now. My tv and router are gonna be in the same room. I've read the tv's specification but there wasn't mentioned any detail about wifi. Then I found some review and some tv owner wrote it supported both 2,4 and 5 ghz band. I may also contact samsung support and ask them to make me sure. I am pretty satisfied with this router so far. It's working nice. I was just kind of nervous because everywhere recommend to buy dual band router to use 5 ghz mainly for hd video streaming, but no one writes very important info that you have to have "a/b/g/n wifi" or at least "n" with 5 ghz support ... and I am sure many of people don't know about it until they encounter this issue.
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: 5 GHZ band

I don't have any setup to stream HD video to a TV, but according to something I read on smallnetbuilder, the author (Tim Higgins) said that wireless, even 5GHz n is not reliable for streaming. He says you can encounter problems. The author went on to say that you should really use wired connection at 1000Mbps or even 100Mbps if you want reliability.

You should be able to find the article easily.

Just some food for thought so you aren't disappointed later on.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2009-12-31

Re: 5 GHZ band

Okay Joe_, thanks for advice.
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: 5 GHZ band

You're welcome! Smiley Happy
Discussion Stats
  • 13 replies
  • 7099 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors