Reply
Follower
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-09-29

Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

I recently upgraded my cable modem (comcast), and needed to upgrade my wireless router. I choose the WNDR3700. I've gone through "E-Z" install a number of times but still can't connect with wireless. However, I can connect through a LAN cable from the router to laptop.

On the cable modem, the "online" indicator light is flashing yellow, but should be solid green (when attached via ethernet cable to the router). When i connect the modem directly to my laptop with a ethernet cable, the modem is working properly (solid green light).

Cable modem: Arris TM722
Router: WNDR3400
Firmwear: V1.0.0.38_16.0.48
Frustration level: medium-high

Any advice would be appreciated.

Jason
Tutor
Posts: 2,017
Registered: ‎2010-02-22

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

3400 or 3700 ?

Flashing amber indicates that the connection link is good, but it cant get an IP.


It is likely that you can only get issued one IP via the cable provider, and since your laptop had been connected to the modem then there is a valid IP active.

Two choices (I think)

#1
So connected up as it should be working, go into the router web page.. www.routerlogin.net or the routers IP if that doesnt work (default is 192.168.1.1).
Under "Setup" click "Basic Settings"... It may take 1-2 seconds for the proper page to load. At the bottom of the page that loads it should have a section to put a Router MAC Address.
If your using your Laptop then just click "Use Computer Mac Address" Then click Apply. Rebooting your router should then allow it to get an IP.

#2
Your other choice would be to connect the laptop to the modem.. When the laptop has a valid connection to the internet then log open up a command prompt an issue the following command
"ipconfig /release"
Unplug your ethernet port, and hopefully your modem will now accept a connection from a new device.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

sounds like if you are online is blinking on arris then this ISP issues.

you likely to have poor signal causing not able negotiate connection with arris modem to the comcast network

I would put trouble ticket and have someone come and check.
also if you have moved your cable modem to different location in the house that also will cause the issues if this was used in different rooms

typical issues if you moved in the house then line you are using are coming fro the first splitter and loosing the signal strength
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎2011-01-04

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

Fellow Comcast user here.

Are you power-cycling the modem when you change the connection from your laptop to the router? Just for grins, try this:

    This is functionally equivalent to jlewter's suggestion #1, but doesn't require you to change any configuration.
Tutor
Posts: 2,017
Registered: ‎2010-02-22

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

I didnt know if the lease would be thrown out when the modem was disconnected...

TBH, I didnt even consider it ;( ...
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

if arris has battery.. that needs to be removed for power cycling the unit on modem
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎2011-01-04

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

June's right - I forgot "TM" stands for "Telephony Modem". Remove the battery and wait a couple of minutes as step 1a.
Aspirant
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎2011-01-04

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

One more quick thought:

I just took a quick look at your modem's instruction manual:
http://www.arrisi.com/support/guides/_docs/TM722_User_Guide_Std2-1.pdf

Instead of removing the battery, you can use the Reset button:
Use the Reset button, on the back of the Telephony Modem, to reset the modem
as if you power cycled the unit. You may need to reset the Telephony Modem if you
are having problems connecting to the Internet.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

I always use removing battery. reset may work but best to kill all the power ..
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎2010-06-14

Re: Can't connect to Arris TM722 cable modem

You may be reading the lights incorrectly. I have a 722 sitting next to me and the lights are confusing. Are Your "online" light is a function of whether the modem can acquire or not and doesn;t change depending on what host is connected to the modem. Now if your "Link" light is what you mean, then an orange/amber light indicates a 100Mb connection while green is gigabit. Regardless your issue with the router connected is most likely ip assignmwnt to your router from comcast. The fix is most likely power cycling your modem first without any host device connected. Since the 722 has battery backup either remove the battery and unplug it or simply push the reset button on the back of the modem then connect your router to it. It should then get an IP from your isp.
Discussion Stats
  • 13 replies
  • 49844 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 7 in conversation
Top Contributors