Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎2011-07-17

Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

I have had the chromecast working on a variety of networks.

It does not appear to be working well with the Netgear router. I have to reboot to allow it to be discovered. It will work for a few hours then stop. All hte devices are on the same guest network. The chromecast is 2 feet from the router.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2013-09-15

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

Can anybody out there help? I have same problem only worse, the network won't recognize the Chromecast. I've tried all the settings on the router, down to just using one 2.4 unsecured signal to no avail. Any suggestions?
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

Router firmware?
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2013-09-15

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

Netgear WNDR3800 firmware V1.0.0.44, supposed to be the latest.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

Latest, but not greatest. According to many a better version to use is v1.0.0.38. Read the "WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.44" sticky at the top and the "WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40" thread still floating near the top, for more. If you need instructions for changing the router's firmware, see link in signature, step four. Although written for the WNDR3700, with a little preplanning you should be fine.

Having said that, I can't say with any certainty this will fix the Chromecast issue, but it is a place to start.
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2013-09-15

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

Installed old version of firmware (V1.0.0.38) and still no Chromecast recognition by the router. I've concluded WNDR3800 is simply NOT compatible with Chromecast and will be purchasing another brand wifi router.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

Well, from reading Chromecast reviews, just changing router brands is no guarantee that it will work. Depending on the router I've seen solutions to connections issues ranging from "Enable ipv6" to "Disable WPS". It could be something as simple as "MAC Filtering". But, since you've decided to give up, so will I.

Good luck.
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Initial Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2013-10-03

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

I just recently purchased the WNDR3800 and discovered the same issue with the Chromecast device. From my testing and research I discovered that the Chromecast absolutely does like the 5ghz band. I believe I read this on a Google Chromecast support page.

The solution, at least in my case, was to disable the 5ghz band completely and then go through the Chromecast setup again. It is certainly not ideal, I kind of wanted the benefits of having a dual band router, but it is the only thing that keeps the Chromecast dongle chugging along.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎2009-09-24

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

pettabytes wrote:
...From my testing and research I discovered that the Chromecast absolutely does like the 5ghz band. ...

Did you mean "does not like the 5ghz band"?
Making sure there is no confusion here.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2013-12-23

Re: Chromecast not working reliably - any suggestions?

kramerjm wrote:
I have had the chromecast working on a variety of networks.

It does not appear to be working well with the Netgear router. I have to reboot to allow it to be discovered. It will work for a few hours then stop. All hte devices are on the same guest network. The chromecast is 2 feet from the router.


I had the same problem with my Netgear router. I logged in as the administer and found that, for some reason, the 2.5g channel had been disconnected. I reconnected the 2.5g channel and Chromecast has been working non-stop for hours. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that, that, was the problem.
Discussion Stats
  • 15 replies
  • 21426 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 11 in conversation
Top Contributors