Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2008-09-09

Connecting two wireless routers together

I work in small office with four users and we use Comcast as our ISP. A separate room from the office has our cable modem. The cable modem has a Ethernet cable going to a WRT54G WAN Port. The WRT54G is not being used as a wireless router.
Coming from the LAN ports is a Ethernet cable going to a Netgear switch.
The office has Ethernet ports and one of them is hooked up to a Netgear WDNR3700 wireless router. All users are utilize the wireless network to get online. There IP Address is 10.0.x.x. When I use a Ethernet cable to a computer my IP Address is 192.168.x.x.

I need the IP Addresses of the wireless network and wired network to use the same IP Address range?

I know if I follow the following instructions I will get I what I need but I haven't figured out how to make the WNDR3700 my secondary router.
http://library.techguy.org/wiki/Connecting_two_SOHO_broadband_routers_together

How to do this on the 3700 is appreciated.
Moderator
Posts: 8,423
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

For the inexperienced, the golden rule is one network, one router - anytime you have two routers and you can make them do what you want, chalk it up to inexperience, and get rid of one.

What you should have been using is not two routers, but a router and a wireless access point - your options are ...

Get rid of one router (best option)

Configure one router to act as a wireless access point - which can be done by following the steps in the link you provided.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2008-09-09

Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

Thank you fordem.


What steps are needed to be performed on the WDNR to accomplish the instructions based on the link I provided?

Thank you.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

See if this post here helps. Particularly the eighth indented paragraph.
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

simple

you need to use 3700 as AP mode

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965

if you have AP mode featured in the router interface setting then use that options. You will still uses internet port out of 3700 when using AP mode feature otherwise you will need to use above URL to make 3700 access point
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Moderator
Posts: 8,423
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

johnbigbootie wrote:
Thank you fordem.


What steps are needed to be performed on the WDNR to accomplish the instructions based on the link I provided?

Thank you.


You need to do ALL four steps.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Discussion Stats
  • 5 replies
  • 13708 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 4 in conversation
Top Contributors