Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎2010-01-17

DGN3500 disconnect issues

Hi

I have recently upgraded my DSL router to a DGN3500 Modem Router.

Ever since changing to this router I have been getting disconnect problems that I did not experience with the previous router. These disconnect issues occur randomly and even when the computers are off.

Checking the log reveals the following, as an example:

Mon, 2010-01-18 17:27:31 - LCP is allowed to come up.
Mon, 2010-01-18 17:27:31 - Initialize LCP.

To reconnect I have to manually reconnect to the internet by using the connect button in the admin section of the modem/router.

This issue is peculiar to this router as the two previous routers I have had (Both D-Link)have both failed to replicate the problem.

Any thoughts on the cause of this issue please? And yes, the line was tested in the days leading up to the installing of the new router as the old one wasn't up to spec to provide adequate ADSL2 speeds.

Some details:
Firmware Version V1.1.00.16_1.00.16
PPPoA
Multiplexing VC Based
VPI 0
VCI 100
ADSL Firmware Version 4.4.4.0.0.1
NAT Enabled
MTU 1458
UPnP Enabled
Aspirant
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎2010-01-17

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

Anybody have any thoughts?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

ISP provider?
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

Wrong area
moving to rangemax next routers
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎2010-01-17

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

jmizoguchi wrote:
ISP provider?


Clearnet in New Zealand http://www.clear.net.nz
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

ChrisMcKay wrote:
Clearnet in New Zealand http://www.clear.net.nz



Multiplexing VC Based
VPI 0
VCI 100



Call ISP and make sure this value is correct
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎2010-01-17

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

jmizoguchi wrote:
Call ISP and make sure this value is correct


I had already done this and can confirm that these settings are correct after calling them again today, after yet another two disconnects...grrrr.

I suppose the most frustrating thing about this is when it occurs I have to either reboot the modem/router or go into the web based console and manually restart it. It will not reconnect on its own.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

hard reset the router and try if that helps
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎2010-01-17

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

jmizoguchi wrote:
hard reset the router and try if that helps


OK tried that and once again it has gone off line. Was not browsing the net or anything, the computer was idle and just disconnected, had to log into console to restart. This is incredibly frustrating given the price I paid for this supposed top notch modem/router. My old one NEVER had this issue. Speeds were worse but at least it stayed online.

I can't understand why, if it disconnects, it doesn't just try and reconnect. Why on earth does one have to do this manually in this electronic age!
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGN3500 disconnect issues

make sure you go to under WAN setup of the router interface and checkbox is check for "Connect Automatically, as Required"
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Top Contributors