Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Foscam IP camera forward issues

Ok i have been trying for a while to get a Foscam ip camera to port forward so i can view my camera.
the only thing that seems to partly work is if i do the port forwarding to port 80. but when that happens some of the functions of the camera do not work

Here is a link from forscam to set up the camera with a Netgear router. please look at their directions which i follow to the letter and let me know what could be the issue?

http://foscam.us/blog/foscamipcameras/guide-to-port-forwarding-netgear-router/
Prodigy
Posts: 8,425
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

First - does the camera work properly from inside your network? Port forwarding is not required when you're connecting to the camera from inside the network.

Once you have this part sorted - then address the remote access issues.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

if i do the port forwarding to port 80. but when that happens some of the functions of the camera do not work



Not clear.......
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

yes the camera works %100 inside the network

Outside the network when ONLY using Port 80 can you see the video but the audio funtions do not work.

when using any other port for port forwarding like 8090 (like the example on foscams web site), 9002, 9012, or 9077 when you trying going to those web sites it does not connect.

So my thinking is that netgear is not forwarding correctly. but i am not smart enough to know how to fix it
Prodigy
Posts: 8,425
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

The instructions from foscam appearing to be missing a vital step - if you are going to use a non standard port, using those instruction, you will also need to change the port the camera is listening on to match what the port you forward in the router.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

oh i got that part
there is a section on the devices web site where you change the port to the one you are using.
I did that step.
I made it the same port as the one i put on the netgear site.

But only port 80 semi works
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

But only port 80 semi works


I think you should talk to foscam support.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

This may seem obvious, but some people miss it; you are adding the port number to the URL/IP aren’t you e.g. {your.url.org:9012} or {123.211.22.55:9012}?

Most IP cameras I have used allow for two port numbers e.g. port 80 by default and a second user selected port.

The transfer of sound may use protocols that need to be supported by the router/OS/browser, I have found the transfer of sound to be quite difficult, and when it did work the lag made it pretty useless.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

I just installed dlink one and it only uses single ports for video and sound with default 80 but changed to 5000 -5009 range ports for for 9 camera
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

Mars Mug - no nothing is to simple. Most of the time it is the simple stuff that usually fixes things.
But that time i was actually putting the port number on the web link

jmizoguchi - I am doubtful this is a Foscam issue because if i change the port from the camera i can access it inside the network no matter what port i change it to 5000, 9002, 9011, etc. Every time i change it and add the 192.168.1.10:???? static address i can see the camera with in my network. But if i change the setting in the port forwarding in netgear every time i try to connect to the device from outside the network ???.???.???.???:9002 i always get
"could not connect to ???.???.???.???:9002"
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

But if i change the setting in the port forwarding in netgear every time i try to connect to the device from outside the network


what kinda network are you testing from?
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

The last step of the instructions linked to in post #1 have you check your public (ISP provided) IP address and use that, I assume that’s what you are doing? If you use this IP address from inside your network, i.e. from a PC on your own LAN, then the majority of Netgear home grade routers do not support the necessary ‘Loopback’ feature. In that case to test external access to your camera you need to use a separate external network.
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

I put the ??? marks on my ip address because i did not want people knowing my ip address to my home router

When outside of the network i type in the IP address the cable company gave to me example (64.489.45.157) outside the network my thoughts are that you type in (64.489.45.157:9002) 9002 is the port forward number.

But when ever i assign a port forward number i can not access the camera from outside my network. But if i use 80 as the port forward number it works.
I have to change the port forward number on the camera and the router.
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

attached is a screen shot of the port forwarding info

the ip camera has a static ip of 192.168.1.10 and port forward to 9002

Aspirant
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎2006-11-21

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

Not much help but i have an IP camera on port 9002 and port forwarding is working fine to that port.

Can't see your screenshot in the last post
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

i can see the screen shot in the forum
If you can not see it look at this address for the screen shot

https://7864895227569222697-a-1802744773732722657-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/cutez69/football-pic...
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

skip internal port and see
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎2006-11-21

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

Looks near enough what I have.



Does your ISP block any ports
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

I doubt it unless it was torrent ports range
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

i have tried many other port numbers all of them are the same
i unchecked the internal port number. the port stayed 80
Didnt work
Still unchecked I changed the starting to 9002
didnt work

I uploaded screen shots of the netgear, foscam network setting and the web page message

Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

i unchecked the internal port number. the port stayed 80
Didnt work
Still unchecked I changed the starting to 9002
didnt work


confusing

if you have camera set 80 , use 80 on port forwarding without "internal port"

if you have camera set 9002, use 9002 on port forwarding without "internal port"
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

i do not understand what your asking
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

In the forwarding rules
I did not clearly understood the last post you did
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎2006-11-21

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

Do you see any sign of access in the router log ?

ie

[LAN access from remote] from 13.17.X.X:64849 to 192.168.X.X:9002 Wednesday, Mar 21,2012 12:00:14
Aspirant
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-01-07

Re: Foscam IP camera forward issues

did not know the router had log files

I cleared the log file and tried getting into the ip camera from outside the network with the port 80 settings and it says.

[LAN access from remote] from 000.00.00.0 to 192.168.1.10:80 Thursday, Mar 22,2012 10:23:11

when i change everything to port 9002, 9085, 9781, or any other random port number nothing pops up on the logs
Discussion Stats
  • 25 replies
  • 17369 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors