Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

So I've been having some trouble with my Netgear WNDR3700 router for about a month now. At first it was just that it would lose connectivity randomly throughout the day, multiples times for about ten minutes. Today, it stopped connecting completely. I tried to hard reset it but it would not do anything. Now, I'm not sure what information i need to post here for you guys to help figure out what is wrong, but ask away and I'll provide it. Any help is appreciated!
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Also, used the directions on this site to hard reset it.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=79802

I can access the router configuration site if i change the TCP/IPv4 settings as listed on the site. When I do not change the settings and leave it as (Obtain IP address automatically), I cannot access anything, including the router configuration page. I have tried multiple times to configure the router using the setup CD that came with the router, but I cannot set it up because it cannot connect to the internet with the router.

I am running windows 7 SP1. My sister has a Macbook and that cannot connect to the internet through our router either, along with any other handheld devices we use.
Tutor
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎2010-12-25

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

What modem are you using?
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Donutv wrote:
I tried to hard reset...

Did you try to reset it to Factory Defaults? Is this what you mean? Did you use a paper clip and hold in the reset button for at least 10 seconds when you tried this? (Note: Just pressing the reset button momentarily or for less than 10 seconds does not work).

I'm not sure what information i need to post here for you guys to help figure out what is wrong, but ask away and I'll provide it.

What do each of the LED lights show? (i.e. on or off, color, blinking or steadily lit, etc.).

What kind of internet service do you have? (i.e. cable or DSL).
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

kevtech wrote:
what modem are you using?


arris tm602g/115
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Joe_ wrote:
Did you try to reset it to Factory Defaults? Is this what you mean? Did you use a paper clip and hold in the reset button for at least 10 seconds when you tried this? (Note: Just pressing the reset button momentarily or for less than 10 seconds does not work).


What do each of the LED lights show? (i.e. on or off, color, blinking or steadily lit, etc.).

What kind of internet service do you have? (i.e. cable or DSL).


Yes, I tried that. I held it for at least 30 seconds each time. I tried putting it in recovery mode and restoring the firmware to an earlier patch, and then patched it to the most recent one.

I have RoadRunner with time warner cable. Not sure if that's DSL or cable to be honest.
As for the light, I'm in the middle of something right now and have my laptop connected directly to my modem. I'll post what lights are on once I'm done.
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Okay forget the first part. I got the router working again with a little bit of time off and a hard reset that worked this time. I set it up fine, even though it kept saying that my IP was static, it eventually went back to the right one and went to Dynamic. Now, the only problem I have is that the router sometimes loses all connectivity with all devices, except one. The one device that works is a cable box that my father uses to watch TV shows from his country. All other devices do not work. My wired desktop PC doesn't have connectivity when this happens, and nor does any wireless device.


Not too sure if I was clear there, so I'll summarize it.



    This has become a problem because it will go off in the middle of important business and makes using the internet very very annoying and frustrating. If any sorts of logs (either modem or router) are needed to conclude what's wrong, please ask. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.Smiley Happy
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Donutv wrote:
arris tm602g/115


This cable modem with phone

REMOVE the battery on cable modem and follow below

http://vpncasestudy.com/download/usefuldoc/cable_modem_step_123.pdf
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

This is the log for the Modem.



Date Time Event ID Event Level Description
10/17/2011 21:58 20000400 3 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, but no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 timeout
10/17/2011 21:58 17000100 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing
10/17/2011 22:06 20000400 3 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, but no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 timeout
10/17/2011 22:07 17000100 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing
***** 12 3 Modem Failed to Register - Resetting Between Scan Attempts
10/19/2011 6:36 20000400 3 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, but no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 timeout
10/19/2011 6:36 20000100 3 No Maintenance Broadcasts for Ranging oportunities received - T2 time-out
10/19/2011 6:36 18000200 3 UCD invalid or channel unusable
10/19/2011 6:36 17000100 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing
10/19/2011 6:37 17000400 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to receive MAC SYNC frame within time-out period
10/19/2011 6:39 20000200 3 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
10/19/2011 6:39 20000100 3 No Maintenance Broadcasts for Ranging oportunities received - T2 time-out
10/19/2011 6:39 18000200 3 UCD invalid or channel unusable
10/19/2011 6:39 17000400 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to receive MAC SYNC frame within time-out period
10/19/2011 6:39 17000100 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing
10/19/2011 6:39 17000400 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to receive MAC SYNC frame within time-out period
10/19/2011 6:39 17000100 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing
10/19/2011 6:40 20000100 3 No Maintenance Broadcasts for Ranging oportunities received - T2 time-out
10/19/2011 16:43 20000200 3 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
10/21/2011 5:16 1040100 6 TLV-11 - unrecognized OID
Aspirant
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎2011-10-14

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Hello Donutv

[QUOTE=
I can access the router configuration site if i change the TCP/IPv4 settings as listed on the site. When I do not change the settings and leave it as (Obtain IP address automatically), I cannot access anything, including the router configuration page. I have tried multiple times to configure the router using the setup CD that came with the router, but I cannot set it up because it cannot connect to the internet with the router.[/QUOTE]

When having access to the Netgear (after hard reset of router and manually changed TCP/IPv4 settings in your LAN-adapter of your PC, which seemed to work for you):

-In the LAN settings of the router it should be configured as DHCP-server, to automatically assign IP-addresses to its clients such as your PC.
The IP-range should not be within the range of your Modem. If your modem (for example) had IP 192.168.1.254, Change the LAN address of the Netgear to (for example) 192.168.10.1, this will also become the gateway address for the PC's behind the Netgear,

-After you applied these settings, disconnect the router from your PC and restart the router (just to be sure).

-In your PC: change the LAN-adapter TCP/IPv4 settings to Obtain IP address automatically and Obtain DNS-server address automatically and apply

-Restart your PC (just to be sure) and then connect your PC to the Netgear router.

Now your PC should get an IP address (192.168.10.X) from the router automatically and should be able to access the configuration site of the Netgear...

Next you can configure the Netgear's WAN settings. Connect your Netgear's WAN-port to the Modem's LAN port. (I assume your modem is set as a router/DHCP-server)
Depending on your provider you have to chose the right settings.....
(In my case: No, Dynamically, Automatically, Default)

Did this work for you?
Aspirant
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎2011-10-14

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

To me, it looks like your modem causes trouble now, not your router.

Would "contact your Internet Provider" be an idea? I have seen quite a few topics about similar problems on a dutch UPC-forum. UPC is a cable Internet Provider in The Netherlands
Aspirant
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎2011-10-14

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Found this thread: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=68616

It's about internet connection problems with a cable modem in combination with a Netgear 3700v1. They started after updating firmware of Netgear 3700v1. Maybe helpful in your search for a solution...
Tutor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎2011-01-04

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Donutv wrote:
This is the log for the Modem.


Date Time Event ID Event Level Description
10/17/2011 21:58 20000400 3 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, but no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 timeout
10/17/2011 21:58 17000100 3 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing [...]]


This log indicates that your modem has lost the connection to your ISP. It has nothing to do with the router.

As already suggested, try a hard reset of your modem. Unplug it, remove the battery, wait a minute, replace the battery, and plug it back in. I strongly doubt this will help, however - a modem log with errors like yours typically indicates a problem at the Cable Company end.
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Hmm, looks like I will have to call them and ask about it. Can I still reset my modem if I do not have a battery in it? It is connected to a power supply.

And here's another thing, If I connect my laptop directly to the modem using an ethernet cable, the problem mentioned before does not occur at all. Could this mean that there is a problem in the way the modem and the router interact?
Tutor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎2011-01-04

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Are you sure you don't have a battery? I thought all Telephony Modems did. If you're saying the battery is missing, then you can certainly reset just by power-cycling. There should also be a reset button on the back of the modem you could push to do a reset, too. (Some people think pushing the reset button is less reliable than a battery pull/unplug.)

The logs you posted show a definite disconnect between the modem and the Cable Company head end. It's hard for me to see a scenario where the router could have an effect on the modem's connection to the ISP. I suppose if the router and modem were located touching each other there could be some EMI. Even that's not terribly likely.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Surprising I seen few ISP provides without battery
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

@Donutv,

The inputs of June and quagmire are of merit no doubt, but I urge you not to discount what ptrvb went out of the way to dig up for you.

Not long ago, some people reported disconnection issues quite similar to yours. It seems reverting to a certain firmware version restored stability for them. As far as I recall, there have been "public beta" firmware releases for both v1 and v2, but I do not recall seeing "post" beta firmware being released which fixed the issues. Meaning, it's very possible you downloaded the firmware that was reported to have these issues.

Up to now, it is still not clear whether you have the v1 or v2 WNDR3700. I seem to recall you hinted at upgrading to the latest firmware too. I think it's important to know which version of the 3700 you have and which firmware you are using currently, so that it can be eliminated as a possible cause of your issue.
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

quagmire wrote:
Are you sure you don't have a battery? I thought all Telephony Modems did. If you're saying the battery is missing, then you can certainly reset just by power-cycling. There should also be a reset button on the back of the modem you could push to do a reset, too. (Some people think pushing the reset button is less reliable than a battery pull/unplug.)

The logs you posted show a definite disconnect between the modem and the Cable Company head end. It's hard for me to see a scenario where the router could have an effect on the modem's connection to the ISP. I suppose if the router and modem were located touching each other there could be some EMI. Even that's not terribly likely.


No battery. There is an external compartment with a cover for the battery compartment but I do not have one.
I read through the thread linked above and downgraded the firmware. It's been working well so far. Although it may be redundant since you all say that it's an ISP problem. If the problem persists, I will contact my ISP.
Aspirant
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎2011-10-14

Re: HELP! My router is a complete mess, won't connect to the internet at all.

Pleased to read that downgrading the firmware of your router helped (until now...)

I was not fully convinced that it was a ISP-problem, though it looked like it.

But after you wrote that if you connect a laptop directly to the modem it works fine, it defenitely looked like something related to the router.

Let's hope the downgrade solved the problem for you!
Discussion Stats
  • 18 replies
  • 7596 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 6 in conversation
Top Contributors