Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2010-08-13

How do I disable WPS?

The WPS settings are confusing at best. So how do I go about disabling WPS?

WPS Settings
Router's PIN: ######
Disable Router's PIN
Keep Existing Wireless Settings (2.4GHz b/g/n)
Keep Existing Wireless Settings (5GHz a/n)


WPS Settings

Router's PIN

This is the PIN number you use on a registrar (e.g. from the Network Explorer on a Vista Windows PC) to configure the router's wireless settings through WPS. You can also find the PIN on the router's product label too.

Disable Router's PIN

Only when the router's PIN is enabled, you can configure the router's wireless settings or add a wireless client through WPS with the router's PIN number. This Router's PIN function may temporarily be disabled when the router detects suspicious attempts to break into the router's wireless settings by using the router's PIN through WPS. Users can manually enable this function by unchecking the option and clicking the Apply button.

Keep Existing Wireless Settings

This shows whether the router is in the WPS Configured state.
If the this option is not checked, adding a new wireless client will change the router's wireless settings to an automatically generated random SSID and security key. Besides, if this option is checked, some external registrar (e.g. Network Explorer on Vista Windows) may not see the router.
Configuring basic wireless settings from the router's management GUI makes this option checked.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: How do I disable WPS?

Nothing confusing

If you don't have WPS capable wireless adapter then you have no business using itSmiley Happy

Check router interface, usually have option to disable it

Advance wireless setting , etc
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2010-08-13

Re: How do I disable WPS?

jmizoguchi wrote:
Nothing confusing

If you don't have WPS capable wireless adapter then you have no business using itSmiley Happy

Check router interface, usually have option to disable it

Advance wireless setting , etc


These options are from "advanced wireless settings".

WPS Settings
Router's PIN: ######
( )Disable Router's PIN
( )Keep Existing Wireless Settings (2.4GHz b/g/n)
( )Keep Existing Wireless Settings (5GHz a/n)


I haven´t found a setting called "disable WPS" so I can only assume that it´s one or a combination of these tree settings that disable wps.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: How do I disable WPS?

)Disable Router's PIN
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2010-08-13

Re: How do I disable WPS?

jmizoguchi wrote:
)Disable Router's PIN

No doesn't help the function is still active.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: How do I disable WPS?

if you disable it should not connect any WPS capable

do you have WPS capable wireless adapter to test?
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2010-08-26

Re: How do I disable WPS?

Mad_World wrote:
No doesn't help the function is still active.
He's right. I had the same exact problem, so I factory reset the router and it still only somewhat fixes the problem. After the reset I can have an open network that acts completely normal, but if I attempt to put any form of password or encryption(WEP/WPA/WPA2) then WPS somehow turns on automatically along with the network password being turned on(which has NEVER happened before in the 13 months I have owned this product) and makes it impossible for any of my phones or laptops to connect via WiFi. I have spent countless hours trying to figure out why WPS turns on by itself and why it won't go away, but I can't find any setting to turn it off and keep it away. Turning off the WPS PIN setting mentioned above only makes it so that WPS can't be manipulated by using the router PIN, it doesn't do anything in the way of turning off or disabling WPS. I don't know what caused this all to start, I think it may have been as simple as the dog hitting the WPS button on the router when I wasn't looking. Either way, nothing helps, not even a factory reset. The WPS button on the router can't even be used to turn WPS off. The button seems to have 2 modes, if you press it once, it turns on(LED light is solid), if you press it again(you would think this would turn it off) it just makes the LED blink(WPS is still on during the blinking), then eventually it goes back to solid. As long as there is no wireless password set everything is fine(this wasn't the case until I factory reset today). But when I attempt to make a wireless password, WPS turns on, the WiFi SSID changes and nobody trying to connect via WiFi can log in. I have searched the internet for hours and read through the User Manual for my WNDR3700 a few times, but I can't find a working or sensible solution to my problem. tl;dr WPS cant be disabled by doing anything that has been mentioned here so far, so I need new suggestions. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2010-08-26

Re: How do I disable WPS?

I'm not OP and I don't mean to hijack this thread, but I truly believe I am having the EXACT same problem as the OP.
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: How do I disable WPS?

Don’t worry, relevant ‘hijacking’ is allowed within limits, so it’s not often an issue.
Aspirant
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎2010-11-07

Re: How do I disable WPS?

I am also looking how to fully disable WPS. I disabled the routers PIN, but the push button-method still appears to be working. Or at least the WPS-led is still green and when you press it, it starts pulsing. So it appears to be working (can't make sure, cause I don't have wps-capable clients).

How can we fully disable WPS on this router?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: How do I disable WPS?

Under advance wireless setting

Although WPS can not setup by outsider because WPS physically must pressed to setups so you can leave it alone it will be safe
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎2010-11-07

Re: How do I disable WPS?

jmizoguchi wrote:
Under advance wireless setting

Although WPS can not setup by outsider because WPS physically must pressed to setups so you can leave it alone it will be safe


What option under advanced wireless settings fully disables WPS? I already ticked 'disable routers pin', but that does not fully disable it.

It is not 100% safe to have it enabled, because sometimes when someone tries to connect to the router from windows, the WPS-light seems to automatically start flashing (and thus accepting new clients without me wanting to?).

Also, I don't want guests in my house to be able to press the button to connect to my network. They must use the guest-network instead.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: How do I disable WPS?

It will not negotiate without pushing buttons and WPS #

Disable pin should take care.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎2010-11-07

Re: How do I disable WPS?

Okay, cool. Then I should be fine. Thanks.
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2009-07-21

Re: How do I disable WPS?

Well... it does not disable WPS
Enabling the setting "Disable Router's Pin" won't disable WPS.
I don't want to use WPS, even with WPS enabled PC's or Device.
There's a way to disable this feature?
Tutor
Posts: 2,017
Registered: ‎2010-02-22

Re: How do I disable WPS?

I dont like the pin myself...
But an 8 digit pin means 100,000,000 different key combinations.

If the router detects too many attempts of something trying to connect then it also disables WPS connections for a short time.

I am unsure how strict the cycle time is for this type of connection, I know it's not fast, but lets assume it's nearly fast at perhaps 1 second, lets also assume that there's a SHORT delay of perhaps 60 seconds after 100 failed attempts..
A brute force attack would take roughly 5 years to break-in.

As for the push-button WPS, I dont know if it can be turned off without a lot of hassle, If users want the option then NetGear should supply it.

Something worth considering tho, anyone who is close enough to push tha button is also close enough to plug in an ethernet cord.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-12-04

Re: How do I disable WPS?

If you really want to completely disable WPS use DD-WRT. It doesn't support it. I guess they use the flash space to support USB printers, WOL, etc.
Tutor
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎2010-12-25

Re: How do I disable WPS?

I disable the PIN then push the button on the router.

The LED blinks for a while then goes off and stays off.
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2009-12-31

Re: How do I disable WPS?

jlewter wrote:
I dont like the pin myself...
But an 8 digit pin means 100,000,000 different key combinations.

If the router detects too many attempts of something trying to connect then it also disables WPS connections for a short time.

I am unsure how strict the cycle time is for this type of connection, I know it's not fast, but lets assume it's nearly fast at perhaps 1 second, lets also assume that there's a SHORT delay of perhaps 60 seconds after 100 failed attempts..
A brute force attack would take roughly 5 years to break-in.

As for the push-button WPS, I dont know if it can be turned off without a lot of hassle, If users want the option then NetGear should supply it.

Something worth considering tho, anyone who is close enough to push tha button is also close enough to plug in an ethernet cord.


I'm afraid it is MUCH easier than that actually...read here:
http://arstechnica.com/business/news/2012/01/hands-on-hacking-wifi-protected-setup-with-reaver.ars
I tried (with latest firmware) to disable it too, unchecking the PIN# and unchecking "keep existing configs for 2G and 5G settings"
and my android devices (4 of them) are all STILL showing "WPS enabled router"
so, again..HOW to DISABLE the WPS ?
Tutor
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎2010-12-25

Re: How do I disable WPS?

If you have a v1 install firmware 1.0.7.98

Disable PIN then push the WPS button.

LED will blink and get faster then turn off completely.

LED will remain off unless you disable/enable wireless with the pushbutton, reboot router or make changes to wireless setting.

All you have to do in that case is push button again, blinks, goes off.

This does not work with newer firmwares including 1.0.16.98
Tutor
Posts: 2,017
Registered: ‎2010-02-22

Re: How do I disable WPS?

remove and re-add your android devices.
They probably "remember" the router and it's features.
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-03-17

Re: How do I disable WPS?

Sorry to dredge up an old thread, but this is still relevant, so here goes..

Being in a rural area I haven't really worried about this with my DGN2200, but decided to turn off WPS, and like others posting in this thread, it does not turn off. Regardless of the setting in the Adv Wireless setup, the WPS light remains on and I suspect that WPS is still fully functional. This would indicate that the WPS implementation in this product is, like in many other products, not according to the spec as-written.

I haven't yet deternmined if the unit can be hijacked with WPS cracking tools, but if I do and find it can be, I'll be throwing this out with the trash as soon as I procure a replacement that conforms to standard.

In my stack of 6 or so routers in the closet, all from a different OEM, it was actually possible to disable WPS altogether. Maybe I should turn off the wireless radio in my DGN2200 and use one of my others as a WAP, but my home network has grown to the point that I need the 802.11N speeds.
Tutor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: How do I disable WPS?

It's my understanding that even if the WPS LED is blinking on the router, the negotiation will not complete without the router's PIN enabled. Just because someone is jiggling the doorknob, it doesn't mean they can gain entrance. Smiley Wink
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2008-08-17

Re: How do I disable WPS?

Hello all, I have recently become aware of this WPS hack. I am reading on forums such as bactrack forums and others (only from googling WPS ) that people are able to crack the WPS even after it has been disabled. It just took a lot longer.
I appreciate any answers, on this subject. Smiley Happy
Tutor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: How do I disable WPS?

I'd appreciate a link for clarification. Otherwise, disable the router's WPS pin and use only WPA2-PSK [AES] with a maximum length WPA2 random passphrase -- such as those generated at GRC.
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Discussion Stats
Top Contributors