Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

IPv6 Support

My new ISP has full support for IPv6 and has allocated me a massive block of IPv6 addresses.

I've heard others say the DGND3700 supports IPv6, but I can find no mention of it in the control panel.

Is it supported? And if so, do I need to do anything to enable it?
Apprentice
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎2011-06-12

Re: IPv6 Support

Have you been able to connect your new router to their server/s yet?
Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

Re: IPv6 Support

I'm in the process of migrating to them now... still connected to my old ISP for now. I only ask because I can find no mention of IPv6 anywhere in the router's web panel. Wouldn't there we somewhere I could allocate an IPv6 address to the router itself for example?
Apprentice
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎2011-06-12

Re: IPv6 Support

Ryster wrote:
I'm in the process of migrating to them now... still connected to my old ISP for now. I only ask because I can find no mention of IPv6 anywhere in the router's web panel. Wouldn't there we somewhere I could allocate an IPv6 address to the router itself for example?


I have been unable to find anything myself either.

This evening I have been playing around connecting mine via the Ethernet WAN port, rather than ADSL. In this case it again didn't understandably pick up on IPv6 since I'm connecting it to another router.

I am wondering now if it will automatically change to IPv6 when connected to a suitable connection.

Unfortunately Sky is still using IPv4 so i personally can't help any further.
Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

Re: IPv6 Support

Well I've completed my migration to AAISP (Andrew & Arnold - great ISP by the way, top reviews, excellent service so far!) and there is still no mention whatsoever of IPv6 in the DGND3700's web panel. This is most annoying. I would have though a brand new router only a few months old would have this support.

I've got IPv6 running on my local LAN now using my Windows 2008 R2 server as an IPv6 DHCP server, dishing out addresses in my allocated block to any device that supports it, but no way for those addresses to communicate with the outside world until Netgear gets it's act together.

Come on Netgear, get a grip... haven't you heard?.. there are no more IPv4 addresses left to give out, people need to have the option of trying out IPv6 NOW!
Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

Re: IPv6 Support

Just a quick update that I've now logged an official technical support request with Netgear about their complete lack of IPv6 support, my case ref is 16220997. I'll reply here when I get a response.
Apprentice
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎2011-06-12

Re: IPv6 Support

Thanks for keeping us informed of your progress. Please keep us updated too.

Ryster wrote:
Come on Netgear, get a grip... haven't you heard?.. there are no more IPv4 addresses left to give out, people need to have the option of trying out IPv6 NOW!


Actually several places are already completely converted to IPv6. Apparently China ran their Olympics systems completely on IPv6. That was 3 years ago. :cool:

I would hope that the techs at Netgear have already written a suitable firmware for you to use. I am kind of shocked that it isn't already working. :eek:

The US DOD went completely over to IPv6 a couple of years back too, so I guess Netgear do need to get all their firmwares updated ASAP!
Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

Re: IPv6 Support

Well the first reply is in, and it isn't good... the "tech" who responded to me felt the need to shove a specifications booklet in my face at the same time as flat out stating the DGND3700 does not support the IPv6 protocol. See for yourself...
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for choosing NETGEAR. My name is Denston and I will be your Support Engineer.

I understand that you want to know if your router is IPV6 supported. I will be working to assist you in resolving the issue you described. Since we are doing this online it may require a few email exchanges before we can resolve the issue. I will do my best to help resolve your case in the least possible time.

Regarding your concern we are sorry to inform you that this router does not support IPV6 protocol, please click on the link given below to know more about the product.

http://www.netgear.com/images/DGND3700_DS_26May1118-17292.pdf

Please do visit http://support.netgear.com for any technical queries regarding NETGEAR products.

We hope that the steps provided above will help to resolve the problem/case. Please feel free to contact us again if you require further assistance.

A system generated e-mail will be sent to your e-mail address to inform you that we have responded to your inquiry. Please DO NOT REPLY to the e-mail sent to your e-mail address. Instead, if you want to reply to the message above and have additional query, please click "no" when the system prompts you "Was your problem resolved with the information provided by the NETGEAR representative above?"

When you select YES, your case will be closed and a separate e-mail containing a survey link will be sent to you to measure your customer support experience.

Thanks again for choosing NETGEAR. Have a great day!

Regards,
Denston
NETGEAR, Inc.
http://my.netgear.com


Well I've now replied to this expressing my dissatisfaction with the fact that they have had the short-sightedness to release a brand new model of router (a premium model at that) without IPv6 support AFTER the world had already run out of IPv4 addresses. I have asked them to escalate the call to a superior.

Let's see what happens... I really can't believe Netgear would be so short-sighted as to continue to completely ignore IPv6 in the home/soho market. The IPv4 problem cannot be ignored. Sooner or later there are going to be web servers out there that cannot obtain IPv4 addresses because they are all used, and therefore only operate on IPv6. Quite frankly the world just isn't ready, and companies like Netgear are perpetuating that failure to be ready. You should be ashamed of yourself Netgear.

End of rant, lol Smiley Happy
Aspirant
Posts: 469
Registered: ‎2011-06-03

Re: IPv6 Support

Why don't you just set up your router to use the server with the addresses as the dhcp and local dns.

If your big enough to have ipv6 addresses to the outside world , shouldn't you have a more commercial model of a router also?

At least in the sense of translation to your current router it should translate to ipv4 with toredo to outside internet.
Apprentice
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎2011-06-12

Re: IPv6 Support

theTechman05 wrote:
If your big enough to have ipv6 addresses to the outside world , shouldn't you have a more commercial model of a router also?


The OP is with Andrew & Arnold who are completely changed over to IPv6.

Their products are available for both Home users and Business users.

The Netgear DGND3700 is sold as suitable for the Home Market and the SOHO Market.

SOHO = Small Office, Home Office.

I believe he should expect this router to be compatible with IPv6.

The news that the DGND3700 does NOT support IPv6 is very sad. I too am appalled that it fails on these grounds.

He has an Windows server that is completely set up to use IPv6. Many college & university students will also be using Windows Servers and I would expect them to also want to start working in native IPv6 since they will be using it in business very soon.

If this router is not updated soon to support IPv6 then this is a major reason for us all to dump the router as unsuitable for purpose.
Aspirant
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎2011-06-08

Re: IPv6 Support

I'm very disappointed with this news, too.
Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

Re: IPv6 Support

theTechman05 wrote:
If your big enough to have ipv6 addresses to the outside world , shouldn't you have a more commercial model of a router also?

That kind of attitude is the reason why everybody is not yet ready for IPv6.

IPv6 is NOT just for "big enough" organisations, it's for everybody.

Sooner or later, web site hosts will run out of IPv4 addresses they can use and will have to start hosting websites that only have an IPv6 address. At that time, the only people who'll be able to see those sites will be those who are ready. I just ran the IPv6 test on my line and it failed as I have no IPv6 support whatsoever with this router. I also tried the IPv6 version of Google, this failed as well. Not even this Toredo IPv6 tunneling seems to be working at the moment.

On a positive note, my support call with Netgear go escalated to Level 2 support and I got a positve outcome.

7/25/2011 3:36:00 AM
Notes added by 41064
From Agent ID: 41064
Case Number: 16220997

Dear Mr. Spooner,

This is John from NETGEAR 2nd Level Technical Support. I have reviewed the listed case notes.

I understand that you are inquiring if there is a firmware that would let the router support IPV6.

Wit regards to your query, if when will the NETGEAR DGND3700 would be able to support IPv6. This is for you information only, NETGEAR Engineering is now working with a firmware that will let the router support IPv6. For all we know, that we are now running out of IPv4 addresses.

Rest assured that the NETGEAR DGDN3700 will soon support IPv6 after the firmware has finished. However, there no estimated time of release yet with regards to the new firmware. You will be hearing from us if the new firmware has been released.

Thanks again for choosing NETGEAR. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

John Tracy Ochoa
Level 2 Technical Support
NETGEAR, Inc.
http://support.netgear.com


I've since asked them to let me know as soon as they know the ETA for this firmware so I can make a choice between dumping the DGND3700 and buying a new fit-for-purpose router, or waiting for the firmware.

Also at least this tells us a new DGND3700 firmware is on the way. Hopefully it'll fix a few of the other issues with this router as well as adding IPv6. I've also asked them to pass this information to their first line agents, who seem to be clueless on the subject.

Cheers guys. Will keep you informed.
Apprentice
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎2011-06-12

Re: IPv6 Support

Thank you for the update.

I've been dealing with John Tracy Ochoa as well. He has been helpful, but sadly was unable to provide a resolution to the problems.

I would be inclined to enquire about the possibility of helping to test the beta firmware for IPv6. This may be of use to you, as well as others.
Aspirant
Posts: 469
Registered: ‎2011-06-03

Re: IPv6 Support

Ryster wrote:

IPv6 is NOT just for "big enough" organisations, it's for everybody.



No I was more assuming if you need ipv6 at least for now going with a more professional router or as I said using your device to route addresses.

It's just as a home user I'm using 192.168 addresses so I am in the thought if I get an ipv6 router it will mostly be on the host to me side. Unless like in your hand you have a list of ipv6 addresses which should be able to directly connect to the world if I understand that. if you still use your dhcp on this router till a firmware is available you still need ipv4 enable on pc for the router to connect you an ip to the internet.



Still either way till "everyone" is using ipv6 your still translating somewhere off your network to ipv4.
Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

Re: IPv6 Support

I don't "need" IPv6 now per se, I just find it incredibly short-sighted for a router released AFTER the exhaustion of the IPv4 address pool to not support IPv6.

I just want my router to let me communicate with IPv6 websites if I choose to without having to rely on some tunnelling "hack" like Toredo to do so (which appears not to be working anyway, as I can't connect to IPv6 websites currently).

I also want those with IPv6 addresses to be able to access my websites on my home server (Windows Server 2008 R2) using the new protocol. It will also be nice to be able to give each of my websites an IP address of it's own, rather than relying on NAT port redirection, and the "host headers" feature of IIS.

I just want to embrace the (not too distant) future, you know? Smiley Happy

Anyhow, the good news is that I took the advice of Scubbie and I am now on the beta testing list for the new firmware. I'll let you know when I hear anything (assuming there's no NDA involved).

7/26/2011 1:44:00 AM
From Agent ID: 41064
Case ID: 16220997

Dear Mr. Spooner,

This is John again from NETGEAR Technical Support.

Thank you for your response. I will include you on the list of customers that I will be sending the Beta firmware for testing as soon as the Engineering will advise us. You are very much appreciated.

And accept my apology if the Level 1 department does not address your concern properly. Rest assured that I will take action on your case personally. You will hear from me soon if I have any update.

Thank you!

Sincerely,

John Tracy Ochoa
NETGEAR Level 2 - Technical Support
http://support.netgear.com


Props to this John Ochoa guy, he seems very helpful Smiley Happy
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-08-07

Re: IPv6 Support

This also effects the WNDR3700

A fault has been logged and I got a similar response as above

However. I spoke to a former colleage at Internode about whats happening on the ISP end

It's seems the router connects but doesn't send the request for a IPv6 address

Make matters worse. You can tell net into the router and find out alot of the required code for dual stack IPv6 is missing
Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

Re: IPv6 Support

thetron wrote:
However. I spoke to a former colleage at Internode about whats happening on the ISP end

It's seems the router connects but doesn't send the request for a IPv6 address

Make matters worse. You can tell net into the router and find out alot of the required code for dual stack IPv6 is missing


Did you miss the last half of the thread? We've already established that the router does not currently support IPv6 currently in any way, shape or form. This will be added with a future firmware update. As your WNDR3700 (this is the DGND3700 forum btw) has pretty much identical internals to the DGND3700 bar the ADSL modem, you can probably expect IPv6 to be added to your router also in a future firmware update.
Apprentice
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎2011-06-12

Re: IPv6 Support

I don't know if you are aware, but Netgear's latest router, the WNDR4500, specifies that it supports IPv6.

This is a Cable router and has only just been released. I believe that you may be interested in it.

http://www.netgear.co.uk/home/products/wirelessrouters/ultimate-performance/WNDR4500.aspx
Aspirant
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎2011-12-22

Re: IPv6 Support

Ok then...

Aspirant
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎2011-05-25

Re: IPv6 Support

Ok, well as the only way you can possibly have an IPv6 option in your menu is if you've got a beta firmware that most of us have no access to, could you please tell me the version number Smiley Happy
Aspirant
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎2011-12-22

Re: IPv6 Support

I am having some issues with mine so I called netgear service in Italy and they gave me this beta firmware...and so I saw this option and I took an screenshot.
I will not give this firmware to nobody; but all I wanted is to show that they will support this IPv6 option soon.
Apprentice
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: IPv6 Support

Well the WNDR3400V2 has the same screen and IPv6 support. It's been out for months.
Aspirant
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎2011-12-22

Re: IPv6 Support

Then if you have any doubts you will still have to wait and see.Smiley Happy
Apprentice
Posts: 998
Registered: ‎2011-06-12

Re: IPv6 Support

macinmac wrote:
Then if you have any doubts you will still have to wait and see.Smiley Happy


It is not necessarily that we doubt whether it will ever be made available, I personally think that it may be the fact that as a DGND3700 user I've been waiting since earlier this year for a firmware that works.

...and I'm still having issues.

IPv6 was discussed and promised a few months back, but it should have been rolled out a year ago IMHO.
Apprentice
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: IPv6 Support

^^ Why? Even the ISP's in the US haven't rolled it out.
Discussion Stats
  • 29 replies
  • 8707 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 8 in conversation
Top Contributors