Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Log IN window keeps popping back up

When I try to log into the router set up the admin/password windows just keeps popping back up...I cannot log in...it gives me the server www.routerlogin.net:80 requires username and password. When I enter the correct info the window immediately pops back up with the same window

I can access this on my wifes pc with XP but cannot with Vista or Windows 7

Is this a compatibility issue with the OS's?

Thnx in advance
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

Are you using IE with the Vista and Win7 PCs?
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

Its the same with IE, Firefox and Chrome...on both pcs
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

Oh, if it matters, the XP pc is a laptop..the pc's with Vista and 7 are desktops I can connect just fine with the XP laptop
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

I asked about the browser because you should use IE. If by chance you use Firefox, do so with java disabled.

What router model No. are we dealing with here?

Are you using a wired or wireless connection in each instance?

What encryption are you using on the router? Are the PCs you are having trouble with set to use the same encryption?

Do the Vista and Win7 PCs have trouble connecting to your network, whether wired or wirelessly, or is the problem only to do with them being unable to access the router's GUI?
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

The only issue is connecting to the gui...my whole network works great...I have 2 pc's, a blu ray player, laptop, Wii, PS3 and Xbox 360 all connected..only 2 are wired...they are the desktops My router is a WNDR3400 When I go to the routerlogin page I get the pop up window for user name and pw...it's there I am having issues When I cannot connect I get the 404 error with this below it Access to this resource is denied, your client has not supplied the correct authentication
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

I use Comodo on both pcs. I tried those links. Nothing there seemed to solve the issue
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

Did you try turning off the firewall as suggested in one of those links?
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

Firewalls turned off and still getting the same results..man, this is weird....
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

Try resetting to factory defaults.

- Hold the reset button in for at least 10 seconds.

- Unplug the router while still holding the reset button.

- Release the reset button and leave off for another 5 minutes.

- Plug in the power and manually re-enter your settings.

Check to see if the same problem occurs. If the problem persist, open a case at my.netgear.com
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Log IN window keeps popping back up

Emperor5353 wrote:
When I try to log into the router set up the admin/password windows just keeps popping back up...I cannot log in...it gives me the server www.routerlogin.net:80 requires username and password. When I enter the correct info the window immediately pops back up with the same window



if you are changing from default password "password " unique password first thing that router does is to bring up the login prompt to re-authenticate your new password you provided. I would also say try not use any special character as well. Start with mixed upper/lower with number combination only.

if you reset the unit and continue to try something simple change still results of same issues of not accepting the new password then it is quite possible that NVRAM is failing to read/write. This usually are sign of bad router and if the unit is still under warranty or just purchased, I would consider for exchange.

it is possible that firewall on pc can cause issues but I would try different pc before uninstall or reconfigure it. With some firewall disabling may not work and fully uninstall sometime show some results. Zone alarms ,Comdo, McAfee, Symantec , Kaspersky - Internet security version are the worth some time.

I would use different pc would be my choice and see

You can try reflash with new firmware, latest one or prior (makes no differences) but I would try that. If this continues to show the issues,
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 11 replies
  • 5723 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Top Contributors