Reply
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-11-15

N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Just as a foreward: yes, I've read the manual and the FAQ's!

Have installed/re-installed the above wireless router several times and still cannot log in to the router using the "admin" and "password" entries. Plus, I've hit the "reset" button on the back of the unit several times. I've even tried the older password "1234" - no dice.

Can anyone offer an explanation (or better yet, a solution)?
Aspirant
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎2010-07-22

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Hold the reset button for 30 seconds then try, connected directly with an ethernet cable.
http://www.TheExoticFish.com
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

see router setup on my sig below, make sure setup is correct ,

disable firewall on PC with any third party

all new router uses user: admin, Pass: password.... 1234 is OLD unit only
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-11-15

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Appreciate the suggestions - but no luck, still can't log in. I've turned off both Windows firewall and MSE. I'm a Comcast cable user. Wireless router appears to be working in all other respects. Using http://192.168.1.1 brings up the sign-in box. I've double-checked spelling, case sensitive letters, etc.. The WNDR3400 has me completely stumped. I've also tried using the provided router reconfiguration program - it indicates nothing is wrong with my router's setup (I'm guessing from the firmware perspective).
Aspirant
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎2010-07-22

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

And you reset it with the pin hole on the back, for 30 seconds ?
http://www.TheExoticFish.com
Aspirant
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎2010-07-22

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

I have the WNDR3400, I can assure you the login info is "admin" and "password" by default. What browser are you using ?
http://www.TheExoticFish.com
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Storms wrote:
Appreciate the suggestions - but no luck, still can't log in. I've turned off both Windows firewall and MSE. I'm a Comcast cable user. Wireless router appears to be working in all other respects. Using http://192.168.1.1 brings up the sign-in box. I've double-checked spelling, case sensitive letters, etc.. The WNDR3400 has me completely stumped. I've also tried using the provided router reconfiguration program - it indicates nothing is wrong with my router's setup (I'm guessing from the firmware perspective).


is this comcast provided unit ?

if so try

user cusadmin
pass highspeed
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎2010-07-22

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Comcast does not provide the WNDR3400.
http://www.TheExoticFish.com
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

I didn't think either

wnr1000 is one they provide at least
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-05-07

Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Not to necro this thread or anything, but in case anybody just bought a N600 (like I did) and had the same problem as the OP (as I did)...for whatever reason this router will NOT work with Chrome. I'm sure the OP has this issue resolved by now, but for anybody else who comes across this thread...try it in IE or Firefox, and it'll work fine. Smiley Happy
Discussion Stats
  • 19 replies
  • 137880 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 7 in conversation
Top Contributors