Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎2011-10-22

NEW Firmware 1.018

Hello All,

This is not yet available on the website, but my router tells me that 1.018 is available.

I will re-type the release notes for you here:

1. Update to 1.016

Great, huh?

Anyone update yet?

R
Aspirant
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎2008-09-17

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

I noticed it as well. This is what i got in my update page:

A new version has been found. Do You want to upgrade to the new version now?
Current Firmware Version 1.0.1.6
New Firmware Version 1.0.1.18_1.0.36
Release Notes
1. Update to version v1.0.1.18
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-07-19

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

Seeing the same thing here...no release notes to be found.
Aspirant
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎2011-05-31

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

I've updated successfully.
Aspirant
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎2008-09-17

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

YES!!! I already love this firmware. I can finally achieve 150Mbps on my laptop. With previous firmware i only had 65Mbps. I just had to uncheck "Enable 20/40Hz Coexistence" in the advanced wireless settings.
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2012-07-19

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

Keitosha wrote:
YES!!! I already love this firmware. I can finally achieve 150Mbps on my laptop. With previous firmware i only had 65Mbps. I just had to uncheck "Enable 20/40Hz Coexistence" in the advanced wireless settings.


I believe that option has always been there.
Aspirant
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎2008-09-17

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

KenEsq wrote:
I believe that option has always been there.
I think not, it was never there before or the previous didn't have it. If it was present i had deselected right away. I'm glad it is there now or back. I'm not familiar with the first firmwares.
Aspirant
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2010-12-14

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

ReadyShare Cloud has been added.
Aspirant
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2012-07-19

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

The "Enable 20/40Hz Coexistence" option did not exist in the previous 1.0.1.6_1.0.24 version.
Onlooker
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-31

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

There is a setting in control panel where you can direct your wireless adapter to operate in either 20hz or auto(20/40hz). In Vista:

Control Panel>Hardware and Sound>Device Manager>Network adapters>
1.choose your wireless adapter
2. in the window that opens go to Advanced
3. look for "802.11n Channel Width for band 2.4" and adjust accordingly
4. there is a similar setting for band 2.5

The process is similar in other versions of Windows
Aspirant
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎2008-09-17

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

z3540 wrote:
There is a setting in control panel where you can direct your wireless adapter to operate in either 20hz or auto(20/40hz). In Vista:

Control Panel>Hardware and Sound>Device Manager>Network adapters>
1.choose your wireless adapter
2. in the window that opens go to Advanced
3. look for "802.11n Channel Width for band 2.4" and adjust accordingly
4. there is a similar setting for band 2.5

The process is similar in other versions of Windows
Not every wifi adapter has the same options, it depends heavily on the brand and drivers. Smiley Sad
Apprentice
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

Rhyalus wrote:
Hello All,

This is not yet available on the website, but my router tells me that 1.018 is available.

I will re-type the release notes for you here:

1. Update to 1.016

Great, huh?

Anyone update yet?

R


OK, thanks ... didn't see it on the website.
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Guide
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎2011-11-20

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

Look at the version numbers. The fw being offered to the router is older than the 1.0.1.6. I dl'd the 18 through the router menu but manually dl'd 6 from their website but haven't installed it.
Aspirant
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎2011-10-22

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

Puffnstuff wrote:
Look at the version numbers. The fw being offered to the router is older than the 1.0.1.6. I dl'd the 18 through the router menu but manually dl'd 6 from their website but haven't installed it.


Not sure what this means...

1.0.1.6 should be older than 1.0.1.18... are you talking about file dates on your PC?

R
Onlooker
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-31

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

I see what puffnstuff may mean:

On the website, latest one is 1.0.1.6; maybe should say 1.0.1.06.
The router says 1.0.1.18_1.0.36.

In other words, .6 vs .06 vs .18?!:confused:
Aspirant
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2012-07-19

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

It's not a decimal number. It's a version number.

1.0.1.6 = version 1.0.1 release 6
1.0.1.18 = version 1.0.1 release 18

rel 18 is newer than rel 6

Mark
Virtuoso
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎2011-01-06

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

The update is not on the support site w/ official release notes yet, but you can download the firmware here as well:

USA:
ftp://downloads.netgear.com/wndr4500/us/WNDR4500-V1.0.1.18_1.0.36.chk

World Wide:
ftp://downloads.netgear.com/wndr4500/ww/WNDR4500-V1.0.1.18_1.0.36.chk
Aspirant
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎2012-06-19

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

Be nice if they would post the release notes for the firmware the same time as the update. It feels like an accidental beta release.
Aspirant
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎2010-12-31

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

do not use this firmware if you need wake on lan as it keeps waking up devices by bouncing the packet around the network over and over.
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-06-19

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

I disabled wol.......
I hope you resolve this serious error...
Aspirant
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎2008-09-17

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

GoNz0 wrote:
do not use this firmware if you need wake on lan as it keeps waking up devices by bouncing the packet around the network over and over.
So that was the culprit! After the update, 4 of my machines kept turning on at random times. Never happened before and all 4 were wired connected. I fixed it by disabling the needed options within the BIOS.

This really drove me crazy. I was like "What kind of magic is this?". After a while i was thinking of WoL causing my rigs to spontaneously turning on. Smiley Tongue
Aspirant
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎2012-07-22

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

GoNz0 wrote:
do not use this firmware if you need wake on lan as it keeps waking up devices by bouncing the packet around the network over and over.


Same issues here, all four of my wired devices Nas & Desktops are turning them selfs on every 5 mins, is the upgrade.
Aspirant
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎2010-12-31

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

i resolved it by flashing back to the previous firmware.
Guide
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎2011-11-20

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

I have wol disabled on my pc's but this thing manages to still turn our pc's on so I rolled back to the 1.0.1.6 btw it is the older version. Now I get a message that a newer fw is available.
Aspirant
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎2010-12-31

Re: NEW Firmware 1.018

Puffnstuff wrote:
I have wol disabled on my pc's but this thing manages to still turn our pc's on so I rolled back to the 1.0.1.6 btw it is the older version. Now I get a message that a newer fw is available.


mine stopped turning on when i disabled WOL in the device manager and not the BIOS.
Discussion Stats
Top Contributors